Roast Chicken with Cracked Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Love, loved. No vermouth in my liquor cupboard, so used the chicken broth and white wine suggested; am lactose (and gluten) sensitive, so did a butter and corn starch gravy with poulty seasoning, rosemary, thyme, sea salt and of course cracked pepper. Was moist and delish! (My man really liked it too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Followed the recipe completely. This was just okay for us. I was looking for a good peppercorn sauce, this was just okay. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
MY hubby loved this! Easy enough to make. Will definitely enjoy again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This turned out amazing. I used chicken stock and white wine for the broth, stuffed the cavity of the bird with fresh rosemary, and sprinkled it inside and out with herbes de provence along with the salt and pepper. I also basted the chicken while it was baking. The chicken was unbelievably tender and moist and the sauce was wonderful; my husband was drinking it as soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Yum!.. The sauce was wonderful and I used Sherry instead of Vermuth; I did have to thicken it because I used half and half instead of whole cream. I also took another tip and poured off my liquid into a saucepan and then left the chicken uncovered for the second hour (6lb chicken) to brown the skin. Really good thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Chicken was moist but the sauce was not up to our expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Incredibly tasty, my roomate and i finished the entire chicken in one sitting. I served wild rice and broccoli as sides. Will definately be adding to my personal recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I love to roast chicken and have tried many different recipes and this ranks at the top! It was SO GOOD! The sauce was outstanding! I served it with smashed potatoes. My husband couldn't stop! I cooked it in a roasting pan with a tight fitting lid. I think this is much better than foil as it really seals in the moisture. I had PLENTY of drippings left for the gravey. It WAS very salty so next time I will rub the chicken with a very small amount of salt and I think that will fix it. Also, instead of heavy cream I used fat-free milk. I heated one cup in the microwave until it was steaming (watch it closely). I then immediately whisked in about five tbsp flour one at a time and then added this to the reduced drippings. I got a very smooth gravy which was not too rich. You're not going to get the thickness this way that you would with heavy cream but it wasn't watery and tasted great and certainly was much more healthy. I will absolutely make this again. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was a really good roasted chicken recipe! i used green onions instead of shallots but other than that i followed the recipe. i did have trouble getting the broth down to 1/2 cup so i had to add some corn starch to thicken the peppercorn sauce. it was really good. will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Chicken was great, sauce didn't work out so well for me as I tried substituting something to reduce the fat grams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States