Roast Chicken with Cracked Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was a great recipe. I tweaked a bit, substituting white wine for the vermouth and milk thickened with flour for the cream. I also added a bit of herbs de provence to the chicken. The peppercorn sauce was a delicious little gravy, I wish there was more of it! There will be next time I make this, and there definitely will be a next time. I served it with mashed potatoes and peas and some tasty dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
The sauce was awesome! I even used it the next day with the left over chicken to make a pot pie. I didn't care for the chicken recipe, so I used another. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I had never roasted a chicken before if you can believe it. This was fantastic and I have done it 3 more times since. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This turned out to be very good, but with very subtle flavor, not a big flavor. I used the usual substitutes: chardonnay wine for Vermouth, and onions for shallots. After about an hour in the oven, it was a pale chicken with A LOT of watery juice, so I poured most into a saucepan and boiled it down, while continuing to roast the chicken. It did brown up nicely. I only used a teaspoon of peppercorns, worried that they would turn off certain picky eaters in my family. I dissolved a teaspoon of flour into half and half before adding to juice -- it thickened up like gravy, which was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This recipe did not work for me. The chicken itself was wonderfuly moist and tender, but the sauce was horrible. I was excited to try a peppercorn sauce but it just didn't work. I'll have to try another recipe for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I used chicken broth and a little red cooking wine instead of vermouth ( I just do not keep alcohol on hand). I also seasoned the chicken with a teaspoon each of poultry seasoning, dried rosemary, and dried parsley. The chicken turned out scrumptious. THE CRACKED PEPPERCORN SAUCE IS AWESOME! I had it over mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was delicious! As always, I adjusted the recipe according to what was in the cupboards, i.e. white wine instead of vermouth, small onion inteaad of shallots, double cream not whipping cream. but it made an average roast dinner that much more special. I also roasted the vegetables in the same dish as the chicken; the carrots tasted wonderful! I would probably increase the amounts of the sauce if I was making it again, it was so delicious 2 of us had no problem finishing it all off! (recipe for 4 people!) Thank you Denise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Well... I don't know what to say, other than I think this recipe has some potential. Vermouth must be salty, because this dish was VERY salty and VERY peppery with 1 Tablespoon of cracked peppercorns (and yes I did crack my own peppercorns). I didn't hate this, but didn't love it. The chicken was moist. I give it 2 stars because I probably won't make it again, but it was edible. Sorry, I really had high hopes for this recipe, it sounded so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I couldn't decide if I wanted to make Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken or this - so I combined them, kind of. I used the recipe here with the directions there pretty much. :/ :D Using a 4 & a half pound chicken, I combined a 1/4t salt, 1/4t pepper & 1T olive oil & brushed that on. I put 1/4t salt & 1/4t pepper inside. Since I didn't have shallots, or the desire to go out & try to find some, I subbed 1/4c minced onion & 3 cloves minced garlic with the vermouth. 450 oven for 30 & 400 for 60. It was nicely browned & slightly crispy. Next time, I'll take it off for a bit near the end. It was too salty, too. I'll probably half the amounts I tried. To save calories (big laugh), I used half & half. It tasted good, but didn't thicken. I also didn't feel like crushing peppercorns so used coarse ground black pepper. It was fine. I don't see how a tablespoon of pepper couldn't be a typo. I thought it was 1 tsp so tried 3/4t. Although it didn't thicken for (hot) dinnner, it thickened up fine for (cold) lunch. I poured the sauce in with the chicken meat. Next day, it was quite yummy. I added some chicken salad ingredients with chopped apples. 'Put it on French bread & had a good time. :D It was worth waiting a day to have. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Tried this recipe last night and my chicken turned out soooo moist. Every part was seasoned and full of flavor. The cream sauce was an added "palate pleasing" taste. Impressed my mother into thinking I've been taking classes. So easy to prepare. Hope others try this. Side dished mine w/homemade mashed potatoes w/hints of garlic. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Cohen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States