Roast Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Excellent recipe. I used a couple tablespoons of butter (we don't use margarine) under the breast skin. I used several garlic gloves and garlic powder too! We like garlic a LOT. I also added a bit of chicken stock to the baking dish to keep things from drying out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelby George
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This was amazing! My 5 1/2 lb chicken took about 1 hr and 27 minutes to cook. I used butter instead of margarine and basted it half way through. I also added 3 sprigs of Thyme to the top. I made sure it was in the middle of the oven (saved by my mother-in-law as she saw me put it too close to the top of oven). I ended up putting 2 minced garlic cloves inside because that's all I had, but it turned out amazing!!!! Thank you for a great recipe. My husband was impressed. We both wished we had more veggies though. I'll add more veggies of everything next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby George

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Made this for my girlfriend tonight. she loved it. I kept everything as it was in the recipe. excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PJ
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
It turned out great! Low on supplies so I improvised.". I added a few slices of chopped apple to vary the taste and used baby carrots, chopped small red potatoes and a half onion and no lemon. I used another AR recipe to coat the chicken with (lemon herb). Tasted awesome! Also seemed with sweet potato fries. Not bad for my maiden voyage into making a whole chicken :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
So good and easy too. Will definitely make again. Pretty enough for guests, and makes the kitchen smell yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Nearly 2 hours for a 4.5 lb chicken? Depending on your oven that might be a bit long. I'd check it at 1 hour,20 minutes. Other than that, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This was good. I used 3 tablespoons of butter in total, instead of the margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Came out great!! I put bread stuffing inside instead and used butter instead of margarine. It was delicious. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was very good. The chicken was succulent and flavorful. I do agree with another reviewer that the amount of garlic should be cut. Also, I think there was way too much margarine; it made everything overly greasy. I suggest not using the margarine in the inside and, perhaps even cutting the other 1/4 cup to less and dotting the chicken skin with it so that it browns more (my chicken skin did not brown and crisp as much as I would have liked). The "stuffing" was messy once the chicken was sliced so next time I'll use quartered onion and halved lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight using chicken leg quarters, left out potatoes and carrots, but the chicken was so tender and juicy, fell right off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States