Roast Beef with Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This was delicious! The coffee made the roast fall apart tender. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
After reading the ratings, I tried the recipe but cut the coffee by half, it was wonderful! Yes, I definately will make in again and again. Patimr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
BRAVO! This was absolutely delicious! Easy to make, easy to clean up! My entire family loved this, even the children (who are very picky eaters)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I love this recipe, and have been asked where I got it many times.. Previously I was frightened to cook a chuck roast, but since learning this recipe I buy it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This was a great recipe. I read some reviews and was worried about the coffee adding a burnt taste, so I used 11/2c water and mixed in 1 tsp instant coffee and one beef oxo cube. I had great reviews that nite!! Very nice! will use again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Absolutely delicious!! A pleasant change of pace from the traditional water/beef broth method of making a roast. Love the gravy....My favorite comfort food is mashed potatoes & gravy anyway, but now I have a new found fondness for it! Java junkie or not, you'll appreciate the flavorful results of this recipe. Can't wait to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Very, very nice, very easy to prepare. My daughter came home from school and wanted to know what that wonderful smell was. The roast was very tender without falling apart, the gravy was delicious, needed a bit of salt in the gravy. We'll be preparing this one again. Everyone was surprised that coffee was in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
this recipe was so delicious, the gravy was excellent. it is definately a keeper in my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
One of the best roasts I have ever made. What a great flavor combination of garlic and coffe! I will definetly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
What a great dinner we had last night! I find it difficult to rate dishes based on the way they're written here. Invariably, this thing and/or that thing gets changed due to others' reviews etc. But I digress.... There's another recipe here @ AllRecipes.com, Pulled Pork, that is so completely delicious I can't stand it. Sooo, I did something similar with this beef (seasoning it a bit more since beef tends not to be as naturally flavorful): In addition to the coffee, I added a can of beef broth to the crock pot. This was after, however, I rubbed the entire roast with minced garlic, onion powder, kosher salt and pepper. Every hour or so, I flipped the roast over and added another dab of kosher salt and pepper. Throughout the day, the house smelled wonderful; at the end of the day, dinner *was* wonderful! The meat fell apart as I hoped, so I presented it by layering it against some grilled sourdough bread, along with mashed potatoes and gravy. The gravy was awesome! I made it using Wondra. Both of my sons had seconds of everything. My husband had a third helping of the meat and gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States