Roast Beef with Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very simple and great tasting. Three out of the six people who ate this HATE coffee and have no idea the roast was cooked in it. Meat was very tender. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Just need to add a little salt for it to be fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosered1200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I was intrigued with this recipe as I am a coffee lover. How can the beef be so dry with all of that liquid? (In addition to the coffee, I added water and a beef bouillon cube. My husband hardly ever says "don't make this again" but did this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
My husband thinks this is the best roast beef he has ever had! I started it stove top in a enameled cast iron dutch oven then put in oven at 285 for 3 hours and turned out wonderful. Tender, moist and flavorful. I did not make gravy---married to the only man who does not like gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Great! Needs more seasoning. Add salt and pepper generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I made this roast just last week and it was so delicious and easy to prepare I am making it again this week. The gravy is out of this world. You don't taste the coffee at all, just a very tender roast with a yummy gravy. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Pretty good with the suggested alterations. I did the red wine vinegar marinade overnight, rinsed then seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic and onion powders. Then I browned it in a little light olive oil before adding to the slow cooker set on low for about 6 hours. I also had to season the gravy with the same seasonings plus half a beef bouillon cube. It was okay but I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Cooking the meat in the slow cooker with coffee and garlic is a good way to get a tender beef roast but it does NOT impart any flavor, and making the gravy according to the recipe will leave you will completely tasteless sauce. I used several teaspoons of minced garlic, a cup of coffee, black pepper, and onion powder on a 2.5 pound chuck roast. The meat came out nicely but the gravy had little more flavor than water. Next time I will add more spice to the beef, and a LOT more spice (salt, worchestershire, pepper) to the gravy. A good starter recipe but not great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My mom first made this for us about 30 years ago and it has been a favorite since that time. Thank you so much for reminding me of this one. I'll be making this sometime this Fall/Winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States