Roast Beef with Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I made this recipe in the crock pot, exactly as it appears. The meat was very tender, very tasty. But I made the gravy from the drippings, and it was awful! It was so bland. I added salt, but that didn't do it. I guess I needed to finesse the gravy more, but I don't have enough experience with gravy to do this on the fly. Maybe I'll try it again sometime, after I devise a new "gravy" plan of attack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Flavor is very bland. I added soy sauce, sliced onions, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper. I would probably make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahottchicka

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Sorry... I just didn't like the flavor of the gravy using the coffee. It was really rich. I love coffee but don't like the beef/coffee combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
There are so many better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I suck @ cooking & this was a hit for my family and our guests. Thanks for making me look good in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Even tho I thought the coffee sounded wierd, and I HATE coffee, I gave this a shot. I am really glad I did. It is delicious. I did add some onion slices to it. I also added a little wine, cajun seasoning and little soy sauce. The gravy was delicious,and the meat was really tender. The left over meat I shredded, mixed with the gravy and had on toasted buns the next day. A keeper at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Excellent, very very easy to make and tastes great with coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Thank You!! I love trying different things. My wife is a plain, meat and potatoes person from Ky. She hates coffee, and I fixed this for her and she loved it. This was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom J Hunting for Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Rochelle, Poitou-Charentes, France
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
My son and I and husband really cannot even give it a 1 i had to throw the whole recipe out cause we could not even stand to eat it. Could not stand the taste of it, could be that we are not coffee drinkers do not know just did not like the roast beef mixture with the coffee. Sweet_angelgirl79
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_angelgirl79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Very moist and flavorful. I didn't mince the garlic cloves though. I just inserted them whole into slits in the meat. Before serving I pulled them out, mashed them up and added them to the mashed potatos I was serving as a side. Yum! Had plenty of juices to make gravy. Made a great meal and super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States