Roast Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Fantastic. Even though I had to substitute a few things because I didn't have them (balsamic vinegar, beef stock), this was one of the best roasts I have made. Highly recommend trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestdale, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is the first review I have ever posted. Made this last night for a party of six, using a three pound tenderloin. Followed the recipe exactly, though I did double the sauce recipe. As with all the other Chef John recipes I have tried, this was incredible. Everyone raved throughout the entire meal. Thank you, Chef John, and also appreciate your videos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Delicious!! I would have used a little less salt in the sauce. Best to do a taste test when seasoning. Otherwise fabulous recipe. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this beef tenderloin last night for NYE dinner. All I can say is "Oh my goodness!!". Everyone at the table talked about the meal all night long. This has such fabulous flavor. The only sub I had to make was using chicken stock versus veal stock as I couldn't find veal stock. All steps followed as written (step 3 should state to remove the beef to make the sauce, then add it back in step 6) and all other ingredients used (no subs). You will not go wrong making this. It is excellent! Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
New Years Eve dinner !!! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Ohhweee! This was a keeper! We made this for Christmas this year and what a dinner it was! My wife and I both agreed it was about the best tasting tenderloin roast we've done. We didn't mess with the recipe, simply did what it said. It was extremely easy to make and the flavor was exceptional. As a side we had a scalloped potato dish and asparagus made with toasted almonds. I pulled it at 120 degrees and after the rest in came out as a perfect medium rare. The sauce was killer on this and I wouldn't change a thing. The funny thing is, this meal was even better the next day! I am tempted next time to make it a day ahead and then serve it. The flavors really infused into the meat and the sauce was even better. Do yourself a favor and just make it as intended. No need to get creative substituting this and that. You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made a few substitutions: a ribeye roast instead of a tenderloin, 10 oz of fresh chopped baby bella mushrooms instead of porchini and beef stock instead of veal stock. This came out perfect! I followed the cooking instructions and invested in a digital probe thermometer since I didn't want to ruin the roast. Will double the sauce next time since everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner last night and it was absolutely amazing. It might take a bit of hunting to find tarragon vinegar but if you can get it by all means do so. It adds a piquancy that blends perfectly with the shallots. The only thing I couldn't find was veal stock, so I used chicken stock instead. Chef John did the same thing in the video, which I encourage you to watch, too. Make sure you don't overcook the roast. The recipe calls for roasting in the oven for 45 minutes, but I took mine out of the oven after 35 minutes and let it rest for 15 minutes; it was perfect. This is another brilliant recipe from Chef John and it's easy to do, too. Definitely a special occasion dish due to the expense of the tenderloin roast but well worth the splurge. I cannot wait to make this again. Thank you Chef John - this was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RR_LLC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made this for our Christmas Eve meal. I followed the recipe exactly, except I made more sauce than the recipe called for. My son-in-law started to calculate how much we could sell this meal for! It was awesome. I substituted regular mushrooms for the porcini mushrooms. I also added Gravy Master to darken the sauce. This was without a doubt one of the best meals I have ever made. I used Chef John's mashed potato recipe, and served it with baked Brussel sprouts. Thank you Chef John, you continue to amaze me and my family with your excellent recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States