Roast Beef Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe but did slightly alter it. My grocer's deli roast beef was $10 per pound so I decided to use ground beef instead. I also used 2 packets of the lower sodium gravy mix. I browned the ground beef with seasonings and onion, added the prepared gravy and filled the cooked shells before topping with cheese and baking. This was delicious and my kids and I gobbled it up! I added a vegetable side dish to this for some nutritional value, but it wouldn't be difficult to hide diced carrots and other vegetables in the ground beef mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKFIREBALL21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Fantastic recipe. A bit pricey to make but worth it once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kfox1026
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
WOWZA! I made these last night and they were delish! Per another reviewer I used tongs to fill the shells. I followed the directions except I cut the roast beef up before heating, and i used a ton of cheese since we love cheese. Next time I will try adding the Horseradish to the gravy mixture instead of topping the shells. We found that it had a bit too much kick. I will make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kfox1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was just ok. 2 out of 4 people liked it in my house. I followed the recipe exactly (save for making my own gravy). I kind of want to make it again but I have to think about how to make it better. I definitely won't add the cheese if I do (totally unnecessary).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Used Ground extra lean ground beef, gravy, shells and cheese and it turned out way better than expected! Not too salty - amazing comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was actually very bland for me. I was hoping the gravy and horseradish would give it more flavor, but I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I've been wanting to try this recipe for over a year and finally made it for dinner tonight. Yes, I did my own thing with it, but not too drastically different from the original recipe. I only wanted to make 1/2 a recipe because I used leftover roast that I had slow cooked with onion soup mix. I chopped that up and mixed it with the leftover gravy I had on hand. Being a little leary of it being too hot for the kids, I only used a big squirt of horseradish which I actually mixed in with the meat/gravy mixture. I stuffed my shells with this mixture. Poured some jarred gravy over top and then topped with shredded cheddar cheese. I actually did not have enough meat mixture to use up all of the 1/2 box of shells that I had boiled, I had about 5 leftover. I finished them up in the oven as directed. These were good, but need something else to add some flavor...maybe some sauteed onions and garlic and some other herbs. It was a great use for leftover roast beef and gravy though! Thanks CNM for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These were a nice change from the usual dinner. I skipped the horseradish for personal preference. I did find it to be pretty salty - probably from the deli meat and jarred gravy combo. My fiance does want to try it again with other combinations of meats and gravies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was hard to rate. Made as the recipe is printed. That is sounded interesting and would be good. Lot of work for little reward. Was kinda bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Sorry... this was bland. Now, in the recipe's defense, I thought it sounded odd to use deli roast beef, so I actually put a roast in the crock pot with the gravy and let that sit all day, and then shredded the beef and used THAT kind of beef to fill the shells. I did use the horseradish, more gravy, and shredded cheese just like the recipe called for, but honestly, the overall effect was just bland to me. Even with the "kick" of the horseradish, the meal was flavorless. No one in my family liked it -- they just tolerated it, and then politely asked me not to make it again. Won't be trying this one again -- too much work for too little reward. Oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States