Roast Beef Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
These were very good. I had some roast beef left over and homemade gravy so that is what I used in mine. I also made half with horseradish and the other half without for the kids. This was wonderful and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I thought this recipe was bizarre - pasta, roast beef, gravy, CHEDDAR cheese and horseradish?! But I finally made it on the recommendation of others and found it to be surprisingly good! DH absolutely LOVED it. Only changes I made were to cut it down to about 2/3 of the recipe (only two of us eating) and I didn't measure the horseradish, but I think I decreased the amount ... just put about an inch and a half of the stuff in the squeezable container. If I were to rate the recipe down at all, it would only be in the prep time ... draining the gravy off the meat and stuffing it into the shells was a major pita and the prep time for this was far longer than 30 minutes. But then, I'm pretty slow, too. But tips on stuffing shells would be welcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suitesis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I thought this sounded strange but my family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Haylee
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I thought this recipe had a great flavor! The reason I am giving it four stars is because the shells came out of the over a little hard around the edges. I don't know if I did something wrong, or if it is suppose to be like this, but the shell in general was chewy and not cooked very well. I followed the recipe and boiled the shells 10 minutes and then put them on wax paper to cool and stuffed them with the gravy/meat. Maybe it was my fault but the flavor made up for the shells being a bit tough! I would recommend this recipe, but next time I'll try to prevent the shells from hardening in the oven. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This tasted like I was eating horseradish straight out of the jar! I was heartbroken because I made the gravy, spent time stuffing carefully, etc., and it was totally inedible. Literally. It is the first time in my life I have actually been unable to eat something I prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by banshezmom
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
VERY good. I did not add the horseradish to all of the shells because of small children eating. I wish I would have as it really complimented the shells well. It was a great and different way to use up leftover roast beef. Thanks CNM for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Me, my husband, and my kids all liked this but I think it would be better w/out so much gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
these were delicious. i used less horseradish and i made simple beef gravy from this site. these were great with sour cream cucumbers as a side. thanks for such a great recipe CNM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
These were pretty good. I used leftover roast beef and gravy, and used old white cheddar cheese. I had the horseradish sauce on the side because I was not sure if I would like it - it was okay, but I prefer it without. A nice way to use up leftover roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
These were so good! My family loved them and hubby complimented them so whoo hoo! Its a keeper. It also reminded me of a dish my grandmother used to make with leftover roast. I had forgotten about it, but this recipe brought me back to her kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States