Roast Beef Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Sorry... this was bland. Now, in the recipe's defense, I thought it sounded odd to use deli roast beef, so I actually put a roast in the crock pot with the gravy and let that sit all day, and then shredded the beef and used THAT kind of beef to fill the shells. I did use the horseradish, more gravy, and shredded cheese just like the recipe called for, but honestly, the overall effect was just bland to me. Even with the "kick" of the horseradish, the meal was flavorless. No one in my family liked it -- they just tolerated it, and then politely asked me not to make it again. Won't be trying this one again -- too much work for too little reward. Oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I am sorry to have to say but I thought these were awful . no one in my family would eat them. It was difficult to even give it 1 star , but had to pick one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
These were just ok.. I used gouda cheese. I brought some over to my mother in law and she ended up taking them out of the shells. she said she couldn't get past the roast beef in the pasta shells. seeing as how i pretty much only cook for my family and not myself, i don't know if i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Chandler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Surprisingly good. I cut this down to one 7 oz. pkg. of roast beef (which is all I had) and it filled 12 jumbo shells. I used 2 pkgs. of brown gravy mix and made them according to directions. I made homemade horseradish sauce (AR recipe) and was really sparing on it since I wasn't sure we would even like this dish with it. I'm glad I used it, it really enhanced the dish and this would have been rather boring without it, but the amount called for is way too much for us. My husband said I could serve this one again. This wasn't fancy or really all that impressive, but it was different and good on it's own. 04-10-2012 UPDATE: This has turned out to be one of my hubby's favorite and most requested dishes. He'd rate this a 5. I have enjoyed it as well, but it still isn't one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
My husband wanted to give this 3 stars because he liked it but thought the pasta shell was a bit off...but he's not really a big pasta eater so I'm bumping it to four stars!! It was really good. I basically followed the recipe as written except I only used one jar of gravy...four seemed like a bit much. I just warmed the pound of beef in one jar of gravy...didn't add an extra on top and we enjoyed it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyAnn327

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaffee, New York, USA
Living In: Yorkshire, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Now, I did change this recipe a bit but I give it 5 stars because the basics work and I was very skeptical of roast beef in shells but it was so delicious. It reminded me of poutine. I used the left over beef from pepperoncini beef on this site. I pan fried some onions and garlic, added the shredded beef to heat through - added shredded cheese and garlic cream cheese to make it creamy and stuffed the shells - covered with gravy and cheese (no horseradish, but the beef was already spicy). If your shells get tough - I covered mine for 15 minutes, cooked uncovered for 8 and 2 minutes on broil. The bf ate seconds and was asking for 3rds! If you like poutine this is sooo similar in flavours. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
These were good, something different, I think the pasta should be buttered before filling, and I only needed about a pound of roast beef, the negatives are they are not easy to fill, they are very messy and the gravy mix just keeps pouring out of the shells unless you position them just right, i love horseradish but definitely not with gravy it made them have an odd taste!...i did like these i used mozzarella instead of cheddar, next time absolutely no horseradish sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyss8928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was great! Kind of time consuming to fill all the shells, so I did all the prep work one night and baked the next (did have to bake longer, because it had been refrigerated). I diced up my roast beef to make it easier to stuff. Only used one pan and stacked the shells on top of one another. There was just enough room for them all to fit. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I don't think I've had so much fun making a dish before. I loved using my hands to stuff the shells full of the roast beef and everything. I felt like a kid again. Plus, my family said it tasted great. It did take them awhile to figure out the mystery ingredient, horseradish sauce. LOL. I used mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar but next time I'll use a mixture of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is delicious... granted, I did change the recipe a bit. I chopped up roast beef and filled the shells with swiss cheese, sharp cheddar cheese and the roast beef. I made a homemade mushroom gravy and poured it over everything, then covered with more swiss and cheddar cheeses and baked until nice and melted. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Galion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States