Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Great Yorkies!! The only note I would add is from a friend of a friend- who's a chef in London England!!! - take out your ingredients and leave on the counter till room temp. - mix together thoroughly and refridgerate pudding mixture for one hour. -preheat the pudding/muffin tin for 3-5 minutes, till very HOT, and add pudding mixture- bake as recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Being of English heritage I too had this many times. Only diff. my grandmother used a cast iron skillet instead of muffin tins. It came out puffy and round so she cut it in pie shaped wedges. The key is getting the pan hot before pouring in batter so don't try to skip this step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I only made the Yorkshire Pudding. I used about 1/2 inch of veggie oil instead of drippings (I like to save all the drippings I get for gravy!) I added an extra egg by mistake and heated the muffin tin in a 450 degree oven. (important!) I've found that the trick to perfect Yorkshire pudding is NOT TO OPEN THE OVEN during the first 3/4 of baking time. My puddings were perfect. I'm never swerving from this recipe; I've made it 6 times now and each time it's been PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Excellent, especially the Yorkshire puds. Rather than waste the vegetables by roasting the meat on top of them and discarding them as one reviewer suggested, I too removed the rack but lined the roasting dish with non stick foil. I then added pieces of carrot, parsnip, kumara (orange yam), potatoes and butternut squash all tossed in olive oil and salted to taste, in with the beef for about 90 mins. Served it all with rich gravy and...viola! Sunday roast to die for. Sadly though not a scrap leftover for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This is one of the recipes that has help us revive the family tradition of getting together for Sunday dinner. The Yorkshire puddings make this meal special. We serve a horseradish sauce sauce with the meat and puddings. The flavors are great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I've read every review and haven't seen the way my mother-in-law used to make the Yorkshire pudding. Here is how she always served it. Baked in a pie plate as is this recipe, but served by sprinkling sugar on top and squeezing lemon juice on top of that before cutting! I had never eaten it before so this is the only way I know it to taste. It's great! Try it, you'll like it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
An excellent idea to use garlic powder. Never come across until now. We use English mustard powder, ground rock salt and five-corn pepper to dust the fat surface before roasting. When roasting, it's a good idea to get rid of the metal rack, and replace it with various washed, peeled (or unpeeled), halved vegetables: potatoes, parsnips, carrots, turnips will do. Just enough to raise the meat from the bottom of the roasting pan. This adds flavour, and stops the meat drying out. These are not intended to be served at table, although uses can be found for them. Remember also to steam potatoes, until a knife begins to go in easily, then set them aside to cool awhile. Then roast them in pre-heated beef dripping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Here's the secret to perfect Yorkshire puddings - they never fail. Measure out your eggs in a measuring cup. Use the exact measure of whatever your eggs were and add the exact same amount of flour and milk. Mix well and let it sit on the kitchen counter for about an hour. Mix before pouring in a deep cup tin that has been smoking in a really hot oven - about 450 degrees.. the fat MUST be that hot.. then cook for 20 minutes and whatever you do, don't open the oven door while they bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I averaged this score to a four-star, since the roast beef was a 3, but the yorkshire pudding was a 5. The beef was pretty standard and a little dry. It didn't make any drippings, so I used butter for the yorkshire puddings. I had to use a different cut of beef (bottom round, if I remember correctly) and there wasn't a lot of fat on it, so I'm sure that had something to do with the meat being so dry and there being no drippings. The yorkshire puddings were exactly how I remember them from childhood when my mom used to make them though, and they were just great. I'll make those again, though probably with a different main course. I served this with "Mushy Peas I" from this site, and dinner was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Very Yummy! I grew up in New England where this exact meal was a Christmas tradition. It is so important to already have the pan you will cook the Yorkshire Pudding in well-heated and to add any beef drippings along with a little butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Arielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States