Roast Beef and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was so easy and so tasty it was almost embarrassing. It tasted like I had to work much harder than I did. This will be my "go to" recipe for roast beef from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLYBEAN31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The gravy can be eaten all by itself it's so wonderful! I pretty much followed the recipe EXCEPT I had to use a BEEF onion soup mix because my grocery store was out of the other. I also used sherry. So...if you're wondering how the sherry was with this...it's fabulous! I don't get the negative comment about it being dry, no flavor, and burned the crock pot...because NONE of that happened with me...and I'm not that good of a cook. Beef broth MAY be less flavorfull...and the cut of meat makes a huge difference as to the dryness of it. I used a chuck roast boneless...and it was a bit tough...but it was totally the cut. Yes...will make it again. Too easy and perfect...lots of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Super easy and a VERY delish, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
There were NO leftovers the night I made this really easy roast. My family raved. I did add some roughly chopped garlic as well as some sliced mushrooms. Also, we like our gravy a little on the thicker side so a tablespoon of flour did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
So easy and very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is the first recipe that I ever made in a crock pot. It's one of my favorite comfort food. No roast? You can substitute round steak in its place. Hope to continue making it for another 20 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Harris Fulk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
cook 8 hours add lots of carrots. 1 cup beef broth and no onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I layered sliced onions on the bottom of the crockpot before I put in the roast. Because I found out that I had only one can of cream of mushroom soup, I used one can of beef broth in it's place. I used red wine and my own homemade onion soup mix. I know it sounds like I changed a lot but we're on a tight budget right now and don't have extra money to run out to the store for special ingredients. One of the best roasts we've ever had. The gravy was a little salty but that can be fixed next time by using a different beef broth. Completely fell apart. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
this was so delicous!I used a can broccoli soup along with mushroom soup..will be making this again for sure...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
wold give it more stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States