Roast Beef and Cheese Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
The texture of this dish seemed a bit too wet to me the first time I made it, so the second time I was very careful to dry the roast beef slices between sheets of paper towels before filling them. Also, on my second go with this dish, I added parmesan cheese, dried parsley, and black pepper to the ricotta mixture. That helped. This recipe definitely gives you that Italian-style food fix, without the carbs from pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
4 star dining in my kitchen! Due to other comments about the excess fluid, I added 1T Parsley flakes, 1/2 cup parm. cheese and cut the mozz. in half to cut excess fats as well as the fluid and salts others commented on. I used LaDonnas Spaghetti Sauce (5 star!) but only used enough salt in it to sweat the onion as other reviews lamented on the degree of sodium. Make it! Its beyond yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I found the flavor of the dish fantastic, but not worth a repeat since the presentation was awful. The filling is one of the best for stuffing pasta, tho. Used the leftover filling to do some shells up & that was perfect!! And since alot of posts are about the amount of sodium, that's really dependent on your choice of sauce. I happened to have a jar of Ragu's Robusto in the cupboard & used that rather than my usual Barilla. No problems. I will guarantee you will want chocolate or ice cream to clear the palate after this dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHASION

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
These were easy and delicious. They did turn out a bit too salty, so I'll have to find ways to cut some of the sodium out. Also, I found 2 tsp. italian seasoning to be a little too much - I will reduce that to 1 tsp. next time. Otherwise, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is a great dish that I have been making for a few years now. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This was too salty, but I can't really blame the recipe for that. I think I will try this again with my own roast beef, an eye of round roast made with onions, salt, pepper, thyme, bay leaf, a little brown sugar, and beef broth, cooled and sliced thin would make small rolls . The cheese was excellent and I think it could be used in other places, like manicotti. I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe, the only thing you need to watch out for is the Garlic and Onion Powder. Make sure you use Garlic Powder and Onion Powder, NOT Garlic Salt and Onion Salt, this will cause the Salt issue people have been complaining about. I made it as per the recipe, and it turned out great. My mother made it, made the mistake I just mentioned, and way too salty. Look at your spices, and read the jars; it will help eliminate many of these issues. Enjoy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Thought this tasted bad. It sounded good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
My husband says this is one of the best dishes we have made. This will replace our manicotti with noodle recipe. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This was very good. I used Healthy Choice roast beef and didn't find it too salty. I think I'll heat up the leftovers and then put them in a hoagie roll. Make it, eat it, enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States