Rivel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This is a great comfort food! My family made this for years when was I growing up. We made with chicken stock and chunked ham. Thanks for bringing back memories!! Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knpjdad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I just made this tonight. I had no idea what to expect, but I followed some advice from some of the reviews. I also added onions/carrots/garlic/fresh farmers market corn, put as much stock in as I had, I didn't measure, it was homemade, probably about two spaghetti sauce jar's worth, plus another of water. I also used the 2 eggs. I really thought it was very good, but next time I will probably cut the rivels in half, I don't think it needed that much. Also, I really don't think that picture is an accurate description of the soup because I at least doubled the liquid and right now mine looks like a rivel stew. But tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
As written, this recipe is not so great. With a few MINOR tweaks and clarifications, it's easily a 4-5 star simple soup. The first change is in the directions; you need to start the broth boiling FIRST (and I'd recommend first sauteing as aromatic in your stock pot w/some EVOO or butter, onions, and carrots first, THEN adding the broth). Per prior reviews AND because I like a brothy soup, I doubled the chicken broth and can't imagine what this would be like it if I hadn't; there wouldn't be enough liquid to support the rivels and corn. I also chose to add some previously grilled and frozen shredded breasts since I had it handy and available. While the broth is coming to a boil, mix the rivel mixture. Per other reviews, I doubled the egg and that seemed to be just right. Be aware when you add the dough to make sure there are no clumps because they will remain clumps (as I learned the hard way). THANKS, Sue, for a great chilly afternoon lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I used the base recipe for the dough to make the rivels and changed most everything else. I used 4 cans of low sodium chicken broth and added shredded carrots, onion and chicken. I seasoned with salt, pepper and celery seed. Very good with those changes. Glad to have the recipe for the rivels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Not nearly enough liquid, needed 2 extra large eggs to coagulate the flour. With double the egg and liquid, this was an excellent base for my chicken corn soup with rivels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Great beginning! Was the first rivel soup I made, and I suspect I will use this recipe again with some adjustments. I added bits of chicken this time. Needs a little more flavor too -- so next time I will add some celery, onion, a bit of salt. But the recipe is very easy and like I said, a terrific start.Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I like this soup as a chicken rivel soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Double the eggs and the liquid and it's wonderful. I used beef broth and added sauted celery and onion. Ultimate comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My mom did this growing up only she used it in beef broth without the corn. I LOVE it, thanks for adding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
this was good but not at all soup-ish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States