Rivel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This is a great comfort food! My family made this for years when was I growing up. We made with chicken stock and chunked ham. Thanks for bringing back memories!! Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knpjdad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I just made this tonight. I had no idea what to expect, but I followed some advice from some of the reviews. I also added onions/carrots/garlic/fresh farmers market corn, put as much stock in as I had, I didn't measure, it was homemade, probably about two spaghetti sauce jar's worth, plus another of water. I also used the 2 eggs. I really thought it was very good, but next time I will probably cut the rivels in half, I don't think it needed that much. Also, I really don't think that picture is an accurate description of the soup because I at least doubled the liquid and right now mine looks like a rivel stew. But tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
As written, this recipe is not so great. With a few MINOR tweaks and clarifications, it's easily a 4-5 star simple soup. The first change is in the directions; you need to start the broth boiling FIRST (and I'd recommend first sauteing as aromatic in your stock pot w/some EVOO or butter, onions, and carrots first, THEN adding the broth). Per prior reviews AND because I like a brothy soup, I doubled the chicken broth and can't imagine what this would be like it if I hadn't; there wouldn't be enough liquid to support the rivels and corn. I also chose to add some previously grilled and frozen shredded breasts since I had it handy and available. While the broth is coming to a boil, mix the rivel mixture. Per other reviews, I doubled the egg and that seemed to be just right. Be aware when you add the dough to make sure there are no clumps because they will remain clumps (as I learned the hard way). THANKS, Sue, for a great chilly afternoon lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I used the base recipe for the dough to make the rivels and changed most everything else. I used 4 cans of low sodium chicken broth and added shredded carrots, onion and chicken. I seasoned with salt, pepper and celery seed. Very good with those changes. Glad to have the recipe for the rivels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Not nearly enough liquid, needed 2 extra large eggs to coagulate the flour. With double the egg and liquid, this was an excellent base for my chicken corn soup with rivels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Great beginning! Was the first rivel soup I made, and I suspect I will use this recipe again with some adjustments. I added bits of chicken this time. Needs a little more flavor too -- so next time I will add some celery, onion, a bit of salt. But the recipe is very easy and like I said, a terrific start.Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I like this soup as a chicken rivel soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Double the eggs and the liquid and it's wonderful. I used beef broth and added sauted celery and onion. Ultimate comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My mom did this growing up only she used it in beef broth without the corn. I LOVE it, thanks for adding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
this was good but not at all soup-ish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States