Ritzy Chicken Livers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
My husband and I enjoy chicken livers as a main dish, but I wanted something different from my usual pan-frying with onions. I made this recipe, using poultry seasoning instead of the Italian, and we really liked it. My hubby likes crispiness, so at the end of the baking time, I topped these off with a couple of minutes under the broiler. Tender and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
OMG !! wonderful, a great aternative to frying. that said, i love garlic so i had to add some, i would like a little more coating so next time i will do a double dip, but all in all a very good starting recipe to add or deleat seasoning as you like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
A Few Tips! Rinse the livers, then soak them in milk overnight. Rinse and pat dry before dipping in butter. After dipping in butter, season with salt, pepper garlic powder, and any other seasonings you want to use. The Italian seasoning was pretty yummy! I used Keebler Club Crackers, they are very buttery. I put them in a gallon sized plastic bag and used the rolling pin to crush them. it is important to get the crumbs as fine as possible. Set the livers so they aren't touching, on a cookie sheet or baking pan. Check them after 20- 30 minutes; small or thin livers will be done earlier than fat ones. At 25 minutes I ate the thin ones all up, and turned the fat ones over for another 5 minutes; even the fattest chicken liver I had was done at a total of 30 minutes. I gave this 4 stars because even though it is healthier than my usual recipe, livers are much better fried, with bacon and crispy, caramelized onions. This was simply a little bland, although I enjoyed trying something new! I will post a photo tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My husband and I LOVE chicken livers, but would always fry them. This recipe is fantastic as an alternative to oil burns from the inevitable popping livers in the frying pan. Broiling for the last couple minutes of baking really gives them a nice crisp crust. I also cut crackers with breadcrumbs so that the livers are fully coated. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
These were pretty good and I would probably try them again. Thanks for sharing JAZZY-GIRL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
These tasted like chicken livers with cracker coating seasoned with a little italian spices. :l They did. I was surprised the spices weren't stronger flavoring. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't too subtle. I just thought it was too much eventhough I used the full T. The bottom coating got soggy & the top kinda sat there. 'Didn't even toast, which surprised me. Also, done in thirty minutes. I'll try with marsala next time. Next day: Spice flavor increased - too much for me - for chicken livers anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
If you love liver, this recipe is a must. Kitchen smelled delicous while they were cooking, they tasted even better. I served them over a balsamic dressed spinach salad with onions, roasted peppers and capers. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I really liked these, they came out very tender! I also tried the same coating on calves liver another night, the only change I made was to soak the liver in milk for 1/2 an hour prior to coating and cooking. It turned out DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraZee A

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States