RITZ Push-Cart Hot Dog Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
We used the push-cart onions the traditional way, topping a hot dog. What a nice change from same-ole mustard and sweet pickle relish. I added a little more Louisiana hot sauce which gave this just the perfect zing for us. Thanks, Lillian, for developing this recipe, it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
What a unique little treat these were and so easy to prepare. My onions didn't sauce up as much as some I see in the pictures but they were perfect for us just the way they turned out. This one is a keeper. Thanks Lillian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Yum, yum! These were very simple to make and really packed a flavor punch! The onions were fabulous! I felt like I was eating a chili dog, but, without the actual chili! Very tasty and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
The heat on these was over the top. I loved the onion mixture just wished it was a little less spicy for us. I will make these again and just play around with the spice. My kids even tried these(didn't tell them they were onions) and liked them. The mustard does tame the heat a little. Nice bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Pretty fantastic little appetizer! Loved the spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I've never had an authentic NY push-cart hotdog, but this recipe makes me want to go hug a vendor! The onion mixture is fantastic, and really adds a fantastic sweet and tangy flavor to the hotdogs. Even my 11 year old daughter who normally will not TOUCH onions if they're featured in a recipe loved these! I can't wait to serve these on Super Bowl Sunday, they're easy, quick, and can be made ahead. You created a definite winner, Lillian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I am giving this a 5, because I absolutely loved the onions on this. I even realized I was out of hot sauce after starting the onions, and subbed 2 Tblsp of chili sauce and 2 small pinches of cayenne for half the recipe. I followed the rest of the ingredients as is. I used cooked and sliced Trader Joes all-beef hot dogs and yellow mustard as suggested. I am looking forward to making hot dogs over the next summer holiday with these onions. Having it all on a cracker was fine, but the cracker just seemed somewhat dry and on the butter side to me with this combination. Maybe, if they sat a little longer the cracker would start to soak up some of the yummy cooked onions. I plan to make more of these as an quick appetizer for Super Bowl. They do present well because of the onions. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These little treats are the essence of NYC. For authenticity, the hot dogs must be cooked in hot water. I went a step further when serving and made one plate as per the recipe and another small plate topped with sauerkraut in place of the onions. These almost made the football bearable. Thanks, Lillian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Yummy! Loved the onions and the heat was right up my alley. I even added some sliced jalapeno piece on top to give the bite a little color. I could eat a lot of these. I skipped the tomato paste just because Grumpy doesn't like it. For this reason my topping was just a little liquidy, but that was fine, I just strained the oinons out with a fork to top the cracker so they didn't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I just loved everything about this bite! The onion topping was excellent and my girls ate these up. Hubby actually enjoyed them too as he's usually not one for eating onions but he really put some down. There is nothing I didn't like about this...my family said it rocked. And I think one kid added Dill Relish on top of hers too. Thanks Lil...it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Pastrami and Corned Beef Mini Sandwich

A snack-size version of the famous sandwich created by Carnegie Deli.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States