Rita's Sweet Holiday Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
pretty easy and good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I made this for thanksgiving. The ham got eaten WELL before the turkey. Went over great and smelled SOOO good when it was cooking. I made sure to baste it ALOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Mmmmmmm!!!! This is the first ham I've ever made, and I made it for Christmas dinner, along with scalloped potatoes, baked dill carrots, corn pudding, rolls, and salad. It was just myself, my brother, and my dad, but we all thought this was the best ham ever! It was cheaper than a fancy store bought ham, and tasted better. In addition to looking gorgeous, it was sooooo sweet and tender, it was falling apart. The glaze is also really simple to prepare. The only problem I had is I kept making holes in the oven bag when I was cutting the diamonds into the unbaked ham, so I'd recommend doing that BEFORE putting it in the bag (I thought I'd save some dishes), and be careful with the toothpicks not puncturing the bag when you put on the pineapple! Also, buy the biggest oven bag you can find. Our ham took about 45 minutes longer to bake than the recipe said, and it was also 10 pounds. I think it's important to use an oven bag because it keeps the ham nice and moist. The glaze didn't reduce like I thought it would, but I put it in a bowl in the refrigerator then took off all the solidified ham fat (eww!) on the surface and it was a great sauce! This is definitely a repeat, thanks for the recipe! I've wanted to have a ham like this since I was a little girl...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
It was the first time I had ever cooked ham in a bag and it was truly excellent. I did not cook it for 2 hrs at 350, I slow roasted it at 200 for about 6 hours and the flavor went all though the ham. I was afraid it could be dry because of the length of time slow roasting but it was not. I also had marinated the ham in the bag with all the ingrediants over nite prior to baking. Again, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This ham was excellent! Each piece had more flavor than the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Wow! I made this for Easter dinner and was absolutely thrilled. I was a bit hesitant about using a baking bag as I thought it wouldn't get that nice browned look, but one taste of the results and all reservations were gone. Easily the moistest ham I'd ever had. I was also wondering if it'd be too sweet, but it really wasn't. Use the sauce (the consistency of an au jus) to pour over the ham. I was thrilled to find a recipe without cloves as my husband isn't a great fan of that spice. I used a 9-pound shank portion (the free one you get at the store!) and found that the 2-hour cooking time (or perhaps even a tad bit less) was just perfect. Yes, a bit time-consuming with the scoring and decorating, but all good things are worth the extra effort. Our meal was total Allrecipes...I served this with Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad, Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes (with a slight modification), asparagas (OK, just steamed), and Moist Carrot Cake from Koribear with Cream Cheese Frosting from Sugar. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I found this ham to be dry compared to my usual Ham recipe; it didn't realy baste inside the bag and you couldn't manually baste it because it WAS inside the bag. Also, it took longer than 20 mins. to prepare and the bag split when i tried to put 1/2" slits in it. It was also quite difficult to get out of the plastic bag when done. In my opinion, not worth all the extra trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
It's easy and excellent tasting. Leftovers are even moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this ham for Easter dinner and it turned out wonderful. I halved all the ingredients for a 5 lb. ham and loved using the cooking bag. Made cleanup real easy and the ham was very moist and flavorful. I let in sit in the bag for about 10 minutes before carving. The ham was not overly sweet despite all the sweet ingredients that are added to the bag. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I cooked this for Easter dinner. What a smash! I did baste it the night before and the next time, I'm going to cook it at a lower temperature and for a longer time to get the juices in the ham. Although, it was just fine the way it was! I did cook it for about 1/2 hour more. My family is picky and all of them loved it. I served fresh buns, cheese scalloped potatoes and candied carrots. I am going to make this exact menu for a dinner party. There is no thought to any of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States