Rita's Sweet Holiday Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I have made this receipe for several years now, Christmas, Thanksgiving, potlucks... I do not change a thing with regards to the ingredients, except I throw in the juice from the pineapple too. I place the scored ham in my crock pot, put the pineapple rings and cherries on it and pour the prepared sauce over the ham and cook it for 6-7 hours. The end result tastes as great as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Clements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Made this for Christmas and everone loved it! VEry moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iheartmaddiegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I didn't have the gingerale but there was more than enough liquid. After baking, the ham didn't appear glazed. It was very tasty the next day. The meat didn't absorb the flavor until my husband sliced the whole ham and let it soak in the juices. The next day, the ham was delicious. We ate ham for 3 days and it was good each time. I would make it again. I will try to have the gingerale next time to see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Loved it!! The only thing we did differently was not using a bag. So, we just waited until the last 1/2 hour or so to add the pineapple and cherries. It made the most wonderful gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
My neighbor made this recipie at Thanksgiving and I had to follow her and make it at Christmas. Its so good with all the juices that are added to it. I pass it along every chance I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe- I am Jewish and never made a ham before- if I can do it, anyone can! I generally followed the recipe, but i just added a bit of pineapple juice as suggested by some others - i also cooked it for 5 hours at a temp of approx 250 (sometimes raised to 300) and basted consistently. I also made some gravy from the excess liquid by adding some cornstarch, also suggested by other reviewers. Result = YUMMY! Thanks Rita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Such a good glaze for the ham! I think the carbonation from the ginger ale, really bumps it up! I've never had so many positive remarks, as I did last night, at Easter dinner - I, however, did not add the cherries or pineapple. I grilled sliced pineapple separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I have enjoyed making this recipe for Easter for the past 3 or 4 years! It caught my eye a while back because Rita was my grandmother's name, and she always made a stellar baked ham. Since then, I go back to this recipe every year; each time I make it, my friends and family say that it's the best ham they ever had! The only thing I add to it is to nestle whole cloves in some of the diamond shaped slices before cooking. You have to like clove flavor in order to do this, but I think it adds just the right kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have made this several times and it has always been a hit. No more dry hams when you use the bag. I prefer to let meat rest for at least 30 min prior to slicing. I have modified the recipe and no omit honey and OJ. Too sweet and strong of a citrus taste with it. Kids love the slight taste of cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I am not a fan of ham OR maraschino cherries but my family is. When I found this recipe I thought what the heck. I made it as per instruction and as I was almost done cooking it I remembered we didn't have apple sauce, my hubby and kids prefer eating ham or any pork with applesauce but we went ahead w/o it. OMG!! The ham was sooo good they didn't even miss the applesauce. There is no need to change a thing! This is how I will be making ham from now on thank you posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States