Rita's Sweet Holiday Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Absolutely LOVE this recipe!!! I make it every year for both Thanksgiving and Christmas. My family demands it because no other ham comes close to the juicy delicious magic that is this ham!!! I tend to add a little extra ginger ale and orange juice to cut the syrup and honey a bit. In the roaster, in the oven bag, either way comes out GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is the recipe I always use,It's awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Just okay, will look for a different recipe next time. Nothing wrong with the flavors just didn't make me want to come back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
It was a big hit! It tasted wonderful, though i did not put it in an oven bad, I just kept basting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This recipe worked perfect for my family except I omitted the give ginger ale and no oven bag. The sauce was sweet and wonderful! Every half hour while baking I blasted the ham and it turned out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamfam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Made per per orignial recipe. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This has become our traditional Easter ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuralWanderer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
DELICIOUS!! Made this for Easter and my friends and family said it was the best ham ever. I did a few things different to make my day run a little easier. I followed the recipe but I prepped this the night before and allowed the ham to soak up the juices over night. Then I removed the ham and juice from the oven bag in order to bake it in my electric roaster. I basted about every thirty minutes. AMAZING! This will be our official Easter ham from now on!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaime
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I loved the glaze, but the meat was SOOOOO dry. I had used a spiral cut, and would not do that again. Might even consider using same glaze, but different roasting method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Not bad.... My mom's preparation is similar to this, but instead of purchasing a whole ham, she takes ham steaks, marinates them (same recipe as here), studs with cloves and then tops with crushed pineapple (no cherries). On the rare occasion she does bake a ham, she'll add pineapple rings and cherries. My only gripe (has been for years), is that all of the commercial hams available for purchase these days are smoked. No matter what glaze you slather it with, the smokiness is so predominant, it overpowers everything else. :( This didn't seem to bother my dinner guests in the least. Of an almost 7 lb. bone-in ham (butt), I had barely enough leftover for sandwiches the next day. According to my parents, I am the Easter ham queen (hooray!). Try this - even I can't mess this up lol! Thanks for sharing, Rita! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States