Rita's Sweet Holiday Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was amazing made it for xmas and had no left over ham for the first time. next time I will cut the recipe in half there was way to much juice but no big deal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda MacCuish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have used this ham recipe for 4 years now and I will never change it. I have been asked to make the ham every year, as everyone says it is the best. I make it exactly as directed, and reccomend not making changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was great. Will make again. I will try marinating the ham for the night before next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katowice, Silesian, Poland
Living In: Puslinch, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I'd give it two stars, but the ingredients were expensive, and the sauce has a peculiar aftertaste and not a very pleasant aroma. I started with an excellent spiral ham that would have done well on its own. However, this recipe had rave reviews, so I thought I'd try it. The genuine maple syrup and honey were expensive, but I had high hopes. It would have been better to baste the ham rather than to bag it, as the top ended up dry and the bottom is soaked in an expensive and odd tasting concoction that includes orange juice, maraschino cherry juice and ginger ale. You have to be careful with the bag and the juice level, or you'll end up with a carbonized sugary mess in your oven. I also made the mistake of using Diamond party toothpicks (food-safe no-run color) which did bleed into the pineapple rings (gross - thanks Diamond!) I'm going to have several friends and family over to try it, and hopefully we will like it once it's cooled down a little more. Just a horrible, expensive mess in my view that ruined a perfectly good ham and a cup of genuine maple syrup and organic honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Perfect recipe as written. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My first baked ham was delicious cause of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
i don't have a rating, but i was wondering what brand of ham is the best one to purchase?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is my go to recipe for holiday ham. the picture looks just like my grandmas and it tastes like it too! I don't use the oven bag - just cover it tightly with aluminum foil and you get a similar result. I made a sauce from the glaze plus drippings by placing them in the a measuring cup and popping it into the freezer for 15mins, skimming the fat and then added some pecans and cherries to the sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I've used this recipe three times so far and each time the results are excellent! I can't imagine ever needing or using another baked ham recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I have made this receipe for several years now, Christmas, Thanksgiving, potlucks... I do not change a thing with regards to the ingredients, except I throw in the juice from the pineapple too. I place the scored ham in my crock pot, put the pineapple rings and cherries on it and pour the prepared sauce over the ham and cook it for 6-7 hours. The end result tastes as great as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Clements

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States