Rita's Sweet Holiday Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
As an old single guy... I'm always looking to find recipes that are easy, healthy and meet the needs of the time. This recipe was all of that and more...I used a non-precooked country ham so increased the baking time by an hour...reached the 160f ,took it out of bag, let it set and voila...you'd think i knew what I was doing . Delicious !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I guess I have to join the bandwagon on saying that my ham did not absorb the juice. Other than that, my ham came out very tasty and I loved it. I used a spiral cut ham and removed the oven bag half way to see if the juices would evaporate in oven. Afterwards just used glaze packet that came with ham and added some of the juice from the recipe and used them combined to keep ham basted. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
this glaze was very good. it is very thin, its not thick at all but it has a good flavor when it is done. Getting started it smells AWFUL, I thought for sure it was going to ruin my ham at first but in the end it turned out fine. I did use the bag and basted 2 or 3 times. I wasnt quite sure why it needed orange juice and ginger ale, but the ham is delicious. I give 4 stars becuase of the cost of the ingredients involved. the cost to make the glaze was as much as the ham itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I used this recipe for my work's Christmas Potluck. Instead of making in the oven, I cooked it in a crock pot. It was nice and moist. It was a sucess. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was great! sweet and juicy. As well as easy to make and clean up (which is always a plus).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Awesome! By far the best ham I have ever tasted. Saw this recipe and cooked it for Thanksgiving. My family raved about it. Will definitely be cooking my hams following this recipe from now on! Very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miriaha
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
If I could give this ten stars, I would. Best. Ham. Ever. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elroy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter and it came out perfect! It was the juiciest ham I've ever had and everyone at the Thanksgiving table enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I love making this ham. I make it one of two ways: One way is to boil the ham for an hour. Carving it then placing it in a pan a pouring the glaze, pineapple and cherries over it. I also add cloves for more flavor. Every single piece of ham is nicely coated with the juices and very moist. The other way is like this, except I don't use an oven bag and I stick the cloves in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I'm not much for ham but this was the first ham recipe I used and it was great. No left overs to make my morning after sandwich a good and bad thing. Incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States