Rita's Sweet Holiday Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This recipe is great and EVERYONE loved it! After reading several reviews, I did the following: marinated the ham (11 lb butt) in the bag overnight, added the juice from the canned pineapple, did not cook in bag since bag was leaking. Cooked it at 325 for 1 hour covered with foil, added pineapple slices and cherries after 1 hour, raised the temp to 350 for rest of cooking time, basted every 20 minutes. The ham was very flavorful and juicy. I will definitely make again!!! Everyone said, "thank you Rita!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Just cooked this for Christmas Eve dinner. Followed the recipe most of the way, except I did not add the cherry juice. I had a 24lb ham, scored my ham and marinated it overnight in all the ingredients except the cherry juice. Then cooked it in my 18 quart cooker basting it every 30 minutes. Came out perfect. We also used the left over juice to make gravy, everyone was over stuffed and raved about the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These are delish. Just took my first batch out and already tasted them. This will be around for lots of Christmases to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Egan
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving. My family LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Adriano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This ham was good! I did not use the bag. Instead I used a roaster and basted a lot. Love all the fruit juices. I marinated it overnight to ensure the juice went all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy and coke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I've made it twice already and it is soooooo GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmarshmom
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was fall off the bone moist. Very sweeeeet. The cooking bag is genius. I'm not a big marachino cherry fan, and it does have some of that taste. Next time I will leave the marachino juice out of the marinade. Made for a great Easter dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Made exactly as written. The ham did not absorb the juices. The most flavorable pieces were the ones sitting in the juices. On the plus side, at least the ham wasn't dry. Too much trouble for a mediocre outcome & a waste of of semi-expensive ingredients. Glad I didn't make this on a holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
outstanding!!! My family loved it as is..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
really good i dint use the bag , i marinate the ham over night in the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States