Rita's Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I made this for the Super Bowl but made the following changes: substituted Italian sausage for ground beef, a jar of pasta sauce for the tomato sauce, mixed the spinach in the sauce, used Italian seasoning and added Parmesan cheese to the top. It was really good with those changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Amherst, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsey Carr
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I used less spinach (my family doesn't love spinach). It worked out to be approx 1/2 C once defrosted. I added 1/2pkg sliced mushrooms and cooked them with the ground beef, along with a dash of salt and pepper and dehydrated onion. Also, I mixed the spinach in the sauce right before putting it in the casserole pan to "hide" some of the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
needs more sauce, use spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Not very tasty, maybe with a total overhaul it could be decent. Dry, bland, total waste of ingredients and I had to cook something else. I had such high hopes for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chriss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I just finished making this casserole to take to a church supper tomorrow noon. I'm not sure that I will take it as it looks nothing like the photo and the meat sauce was bland. Where does the red come from in the photo? The tomato sauce mixed with the sour cream gave it a disgusting pink sauce - NO RED AT ALL. I just hope that the combination of the sauce, spinach and cheese will improve the taste. I also doubled the recipe and ended up having to drain about a cup of the sauce off of the meat because it was very soupy. I should have read the reviews first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Except for the thyme overpowering the flavors, it was kind of bland. Maybe adding more sauce and omitting the thyme would make it taste better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I was searching here for something with spinach and spaghetti sauce and this fit the bill! I followed closely to the recipe, except I stirred the pasta, spinach & my homemade sauce together then sprinkled with mozzarella and grated Parmesan cheese. I forgot to add the sour cream, but it didn't really need it.. This was really good and my spicy spaghetti sauce helped make it a flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is yum but I agree with others, maybe less noodles and mix the sauce in. Otherwise it seems unproportionate with all the plain noodles on the bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Great and easy... Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Very easy and great to get rid ofleft overs. Used penne for pasta, left over home made spag sauce and left over brie, feta cheese mixed with the mozzarella. I also spiced it up a bit with garlic n cayenne pepper!! My hub loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States