Rita's Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
A delicious recepie! It really does disguise the spinach flavor. It's very easy to throw together at the last minute, and the casserole could even be prepared in advance, then thrown in the over for 20 minutes more. I browned the meat with salt, pepper, and garlic, then added just the sour cream and sauce. I used a full jar of Ragu sauce, and it wasn't too much, at least for our tastes. A delicious and very customizable meal - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
My family thought this recipe was wonderful. We'll definitely have it, again & again. I used fat-free sour cream, low fat mozzarella and ground sirloin. I was concerned that the outcome would be bland because tomato sauce, spinach and sour cream don't have much taste. As a result, I flavored the hamburger with Accent, garlic salt and onion powder as it browned. That's the only change that I made. I served it with salad and garlic bread. Thanks, KDB for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I really liked this recipe. I chose it because I wanted to get rid of some stuff in the fridge. I ended up using spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce, quesadilla cheese and cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella, and I even used canned spinach (well drained)instead of frozen because that is what I had. I used more than a cup of cheese because I love cheese. It ended up being a real comfort food, not fancy but warm and cheesy. I really liked it and my fiance did also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made this a 2nd time last night (forgot to review after the first time) and it came out awesome. I modified it just a little - I browned onion & garlic with the ground beef. For seasoning I used 1tbsp Italian seasoning instead of the thyme. In addition to the sauce I added a can of diced tomato. I did use the sour cream. I used fresh spinach (matter of preference, shouldn't change the flavor) and I put that in with the beef & sauce before adding to the oven pan. I used a mix of mozzarella & cheddar to use up open packages of each. Used shells (can't find w.w.bow tie pasta). We loved it with these modifications, we found it dry & bland otherwise. Hope you like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I doubled up on this recipe and gave 1 pan to a friend... and we were surprised at how good it was! I used low fat yogurt instead of sour cream, and grated nacho cheese blend instead of mozzerella... but it was absolutely amazing! I'd suggest mixing all the ingredients except the cheese together too... then pour it in a dish sprinkle the cheese on and bake until the cheese is pretty =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very good! I added a 15 oz can of chopped tomatoes with green chilies to the tomatoe sauce to give it more flavor, and used a one pound box of rotini pasta because that is what I had. My children even liked this -- what a great way to incorporate spinach into their diet. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This recipe was easy and very tasty! I added italian seasoning and garlic salt in place of the thyme. I also used two cups of cheese. I thought that the recommended 3.5 cups of noodles was too much though. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
A great basic recipe. I've made several variances of this, adding things and changing proportions, all of which have turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this on the stove-top because I don't have an oven, so it didn't look as good as the pic but it was delicious and sooo easy! Great for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I agree to reviewer's comments such as adding onion, garlic, more Italian seasoning, etc. I used 1 1/4 C. sour cream along with 1 small can of tomato sauce and 1 can undiluted tomato soup. Not dry out at all. I mixed the pasta, ground turkey, sauce, soup, seasoning and half of the spinach. Love the green color on top w/ the cheese with some spinach mixed in. Totally tasteful and makes a lot! Thank you sooooo much. My husband rated it a "14". It IS comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States