Rita's Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I thought this was a really easy to make but, I should of listened to suggestions it needed more sauce! I did add garlic salt and pepper. I did get my niece to eat spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Hm I had high hopes for this one because my fridge was kind of bare but I had all the ingredients for this. I hate to say but it was kind of bland. It was also not very attractive and gloopy. Are the people who said it was great using pasta sauce instead of plain tomatoe sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is definitely comfort food. I added a little more tomato sauce, some onions, garlic, and Italian seasoning based on the other reviews. It was still a little underseasoned for our tastes, but I can adjust that when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was pretty good. I left out the sour cream. I did add parmesan to the mixture and I mixed everything together. I browned the meat with an onion for more flavor too. Turned out so good. Oh and I only left it in the oven for 20 minutes since everything was already hot and the last 5 minutes I had it on broil to brown up the mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
A great basic recipe. I've made several variances of this, adding things and changing proportions, all of which have turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Substituted portabello veggie patties for meat and seasoned everything with italian seasoning, salt, and fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
My husband really liked this, but I thought it was only okay. I think it could use some additions, such as onions or garlic. I used Ricotta Parmesean Pasta Sauce and I can't decide if that helped or hindered the recipe. I also used fresh spinach instead of frozen, so I don't know if that made a difference. I did like the combination of pasta sauce and sour cream, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I followed many of the reviewers' suggestions, and used 24 oz of tomato sauce, added dashes of garlic salt, Italian seasonings, and ground black pepper. It still tasted sort of bland, and I think that is because I used unseasoned tomato sauce. I then added some oregano and about 1/4 cup of chianti, and I really liked the taste. I blended all the ingredients and then topped with the cheese. I used a mixture of equal parts mozzarella, cheddar jack and crumbled feta. Everyone in the family loved it, but my husband thought it needed a bit more zing, and he suggested adding some sliced black olives and perhaps some diced tomatoes. I'm not so sure about the tomatoes, but I think the olives would give it the perfect taste. I'll try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I doubled up on this recipe and gave 1 pan to a friend... and we were surprised at how good it was! I used low fat yogurt instead of sour cream, and grated nacho cheese blend instead of mozzerella... but it was absolutely amazing! I'd suggest mixing all the ingredients except the cheese together too... then pour it in a dish sprinkle the cheese on and bake until the cheese is pretty =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I thought this recipe was okay but my boys did not like it. I thought it needed more pasta and the spinach was too crunchy. Next time I may mix everything instead of layering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States