Rita's Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My family thought this was really good. I did a few things different. I used a 28oz can of tomato sauce instead. I added (about a tsp of each) basil, oregeno, & italian seasoning and about a half tsp of garlic powder, pepper and red pepper flakes. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe is a keeper! Super easy, good & simple, and what I especially love about it is that most of the ingredients are things you can keep on hand. I 86'd the sour cream because we were out and I was too lazy to go to the store! :) I did cook some onions and garlic in a little olive oil right before browning the beef (in the same skillet). It's just a habit, what I always do when making ground meat for a recipe like this. Brilliant recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made it last night because I had everything in the house and was very disappointed...very bland and would not make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mywraps

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very good! I added a 15 oz can of chopped tomatoes with green chilies to the tomatoe sauce to give it more flavor, and used a one pound box of rotini pasta because that is what I had. My children even liked this -- what a great way to incorporate spinach into their diet. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Rita's Spinach Casserole Haiku: "Won't make this again. Can't salvage the leftovers. Thought it'd be better." I halved the recipe (glad that I did) and used spirals instead of bowties, and even added onion, garlic and bell pepper to the beef, and additional Italian Seasoning, per every review calling this bland. The most unappealing thing was the putrid shade of pink that the sour cream gave to the tomato sauce/meat mixture, not to mention the fact that it was still low on the flavor meter. Perhaps mixing everything together, rather than layering the plain noodles and plain spinach around the only flavorful ingredients would've helped, but as written, this recipe's a dud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Good. But DEFINITELY add more tomato sauce. WILL be cooking it again though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I agree to reviewer's comments such as adding onion, garlic, more Italian seasoning, etc. I used 1 1/4 C. sour cream along with 1 small can of tomato sauce and 1 can undiluted tomato soup. Not dry out at all. I mixed the pasta, ground turkey, sauce, soup, seasoning and half of the spinach. Love the green color on top w/ the cheese with some spinach mixed in. Totally tasteful and makes a lot! Thank you sooooo much. My husband rated it a "14". It IS comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Faster to make than a lasagna and just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is the first time I've ever cooked with frozen spinach. I changed the tomato sauce to a thick, chunk spaghetti sauce. I'm makin a conscience effort to include more vegetables into our dinners. This did the trick and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
My 8 year old said spinach is "Awesome!" so we'll definitely be making this again. But tomato sauce is rather bland and 15 oz. of tomato sauce is not enough sauce, so next time I'll use spaghetti sauce and turkey sausage instead of basic ground beef to kick it up a bit. Also, I might mix the spinach in with the tomato/meat mixture for better distribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States