Rita's Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Used a herb and spice tomato paste, added green peppers, used Italian seasoning instead of thyme, added garlic and black pepper and used tex mex cheese. Very good, could have used cheese in the actual mixture, not just on top, and a bit spice to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I also did some major modifications. I used ground turkey breast (seasoned with garlic / onion powder, basil, oregano, thyme) instead of ground beef, and fresh spinach. Instead of sour cream, (even reduced /fat free sour cream would be prefered), I used low fat part skim ricotta cheese and mixed chopped fresh spinach into it, then spread it over the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bigott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
If you r kids don't like spinach, don't put the layer of spinach on top. Mix it in with the sauce! Harder to spot the "green stuff" that way! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
OOOOOOO! Yummy! Love it. I am low carbing it a bit so I shredded cabbage, boiled for 5 minutes and substituted it for the pasta. AND, I thought I had spinach in my freezer BUT it was broccoli, so I used broccoli instead. Wonderful!! I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oooyummy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I totally revamped this recipe following many of the other suggestions. I added onion, garlic, mushrooms, a jar of pasta sauce, black olives, basil, oregano, black pepper. I left out the sour cream, although would like to try it next time and I cut down the amount of pasta. I mixed all ingredients together except for 1 cup of cheese, which I placed on top. I baked this for 25 minutes. This was a saucy and delicious recipe that could handle almost any kind of variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Use spicy Italian sausage instead of beef and add a lot more Italian spices! Try adding more sauce next time. Then it is good. Mix the cheese into the pasta instead of on top. It would be much too bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up the rest of the 4th of July hamburger -- this was really good! Simple, straightforward ingredients. I would add garlic & onion, perhaps tomatoes w/green chilies for some extra punch, but it was great as-is, and is going in "the book" at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I made this and everyone at home ooohed and aaahed about this dish. Was very tasty and will definately make this again and again. Keep the recipes coming. Love this site. Liz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
What a HIT! I know my husband loves a dish when he says "You can make this any time!" And he said just that -- over and over! The only change I made was using ground turkey instead of beef. Hubby said this reminded him of lasagna. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This was good! I made this with no salt added tomato sauce. Next time I will try regular tomato sauce and maybe a little extra hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States