Rita's Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I also did some major modifications. I used ground turkey breast (seasoned with garlic / onion powder, basil, oregano, thyme) instead of ground beef, and fresh spinach. Instead of sour cream, (even reduced /fat free sour cream would be prefered), I used low fat part skim ricotta cheese and mixed chopped fresh spinach into it, then spread it over the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
If you r kids don't like spinach, don't put the layer of spinach on top. Mix it in with the sauce! Harder to spot the "green stuff" that way! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
OOOOOOO! Yummy! Love it. I am low carbing it a bit so I shredded cabbage, boiled for 5 minutes and substituted it for the pasta. AND, I thought I had spinach in my freezer BUT it was broccoli, so I used broccoli instead. Wonderful!! I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oooyummy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I totally revamped this recipe following many of the other suggestions. I added onion, garlic, mushrooms, a jar of pasta sauce, black olives, basil, oregano, black pepper. I left out the sour cream, although would like to try it next time and I cut down the amount of pasta. I mixed all ingredients together except for 1 cup of cheese, which I placed on top. I baked this for 25 minutes. This was a saucy and delicious recipe that could handle almost any kind of variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Use spicy Italian sausage instead of beef and add a lot more Italian spices! Try adding more sauce next time. Then it is good. Mix the cheese into the pasta instead of on top. It would be much too bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up the rest of the 4th of July hamburger -- this was really good! Simple, straightforward ingredients. I would add garlic & onion, perhaps tomatoes w/green chilies for some extra punch, but it was great as-is, and is going in "the book" at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I made this and everyone at home ooohed and aaahed about this dish. Was very tasty and will definately make this again and again. Keep the recipes coming. Love this site. Liz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
What a HIT! I know my husband loves a dish when he says "You can make this any time!" And he said just that -- over and over! The only change I made was using ground turkey instead of beef. Hubby said this reminded him of lasagna. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This was good! I made this with no salt added tomato sauce. Next time I will try regular tomato sauce and maybe a little extra hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lasich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I was excited to make this, but then reading all the reviews about how bland it was, I almost changed my mind. I don't want to be yelled at for changing the recipe, but I always work it a little to make it better. First, I added chopped garlic and onion (always add that if the recipe doesn't call for it) dried basil and orgegano in addition to the thyme. Then I added the pasta to the beef mixture, but a fresh spinach and arugula mix on top (cooked it down first), then the cheese and baked for 20 minutes. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmamach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States