Rita's Eggs Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Just Fabulous. I wasn't sure where the recipe was going with the worchestershire sauce and all that savory stuff, but boy oh boy, this comes together to make a dish that is very tasty and classier than all those Sunday brunch easy-cheesy egg creations. I will keep this close at hand for future reference, YUM! Be sure and use a firm bread, I didnt have any stale bread so i just left mine out for a couple hours to dry out. The thing I liked about this is that you make it the night before (or longer), and it lets you make other wonderful fresh things to go with it, a great helper for that spectacular brunch you are planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This had a good flavor but needed work so I am giving it 3 stars. I recommend more butter, using french bread, and putting a cover on until the last 15 minutes so that the cheese doesn't burn. You will need more than 1 hour to cook this. I also recommend adding meats or vegetables like ham, sauteed spinach or mushrooms that have been pressed to remove water. The savoury flavor is a 5 though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This was an excellent choice for breakfast the morning I graduated from Washington State University. I had all my family and friends over, and the feedback was incredible! My Mom and I loved it so much we are making it again now for Christmas morning breakfast. We did make a small change by splitting the recipe in half, making one have the way Rita would, and in the other half we added sausage. EXCELLENT RECIPE....HIGHLY RECCOMMEND!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I've made several of these breakfast type casseroles for special occassions ove the years an this is by far the best. It's filling and fluffy at the same time! I followed the directions as written and it worked well. I get lots of requests for this recipe (from young and old alike).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Delicious! I wanted to make this in my large casserole dish (a little bigger than 9X13) so I used 12 slices of bread and 2 more eggs. I also added 1 1/2 cups of chopped ham and 1 cup of chopped onion, layered like the other ingredients. It was the perfect amount for the dish. I also cut the crusts off before baking - maybe not necessary, but I wanted it to look elegant. It took a lot longer to bake than 1 hour, but I had two in the oven at the same time (2 hrs. total bake time). I did loosely cover it with foil for the first hour and the browning was just right. Everyone loved it and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I had a Strata recipe for an 8x8 dish, but needed more (didn't want to double my recipe for some reason). Rita's Eggs Strata is THE STRATA for an 8-1/2 x 13 dish. But alas, every chef has to mess with perfection.... I added 1 pound of browned breakfast sausage to which was added 1/2 medium chopped onion and 1/2 medium chopped green bell pepper - and a small can of drained mushrooms.... mmmmmm. The additions are not necessary... but I believe toasting your bread first (don't just rely on day old being dry enough) is the key to a great quality strata with just the right consistency. This was the best strata I ever made... and was twice as nice the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Served this to my husband and picky stepchildren Christmas morning. Everyone loved it! This will become a tradition in our home for Christmas morning. I added chopped ham, mushrooms and green pepper although it would have been delicious without, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This is an awesome recipe. Your diners will always ask for seconds. I added some chopped ham on the first layer plus some chopped green onions (and deleted the onion powder). SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I made this for a large group and got great reviews on it. I added ham, green peppers, mushrooms & green onion to mine & baked 15 minutes longer to make sure it wasn't runny. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This was a very easy recipe. I changed it to have a mexican flair by using 4 blend mexican cheese and 2-4oz cans of diced green chile peppers and 1 tsp. of taco seasoning. I'm sure the original is awesome as this came out pretty tasty. I'm not sure if a strata is usually this custardy, maybe I'll use a denser bread next time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States