Rita's Eggs Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made this for a brunch and it was a big hit. I've made several stratas before and this is one of my favorites (and I didn't change a thing). Everyone thought the flavor was great so I'm surprised by the people that gave it a low rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Makes a really great alternative to the typical 'egg and cheese' bakes/stratas. The seasonings are great, and there's great room for play with the recipe. I made it with egg substitute, and replaced the half-and-half with 2% milk, sprinkled in some chopped onions, and sprinkled some pre-cooked bacon (the kind you buy cooked) on top, and the bacon crisped up nicely while baking. Cooked uncovered, didn't require much more than 1hr, though I broiled it for a few minutes to crisp/brown up the cheese on top. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I made this Christmas morning and being that it was the first strata I ever made I was pleased with the results. I thought it turned out beautiful and with great flavor. My husband had a problem with the texture but I thought it even tasted good cold. Kudos to the chef, dont think I'll ever try another strata recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LalaBeansMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I'm giving this a 4 star becasue I did make a couple minor changes...I cube the bread and simply layer breadcubes, cheeses, and egg mixture. I also added cubed ham to the dish and left out the paprika & cayenne papper. FABULOUS recipe - almost identical to one my family has been making for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was excellent! Made it for a holiday brunch and it was a hit! Although it has a lot of cheese, the cheese is not overwhelming. I suggest pressing down the strata with a spatula after you assemble it to make sure all the egg/milk/spices etc are absorbed by the bread. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was delicious and a hit with my overnight guests on Christmas. I added sausage (browned bulk) as others did. The only modifications I would make next time are 1) use a slightly larger dish than 9x13 (grease overflowed a little when baking, making a mess in my oven) 2) use a bit less cheese (unless you're omitting sausage/meat). Forgot to mention that I omitted brown sugar since it called for so little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is wonderful, and easy to make variations. We went with an Italian theme, using 2 cups of shredded Italian blend cheese, 8 oz fresh mozzarella, one small zucchini, sliced thin, 1/2# Tofurky brand Italian Sausage, slice thinly. I had an abundance of leftover hamburger buns, and I dried them completely before making this dish. Oh - also added 1 1/2 cups seeded fresh tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I've made this multiple times already and it's a family favorite. I'm getting ready to try it with added meats and veggies. I bet it will be even better. But my family always requests I make this when we do special brunches. It's easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Outstanding! I added steamed spinach; mushrooms would be good too. I also toasted fresh bread and baked it 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This makes a nice brunch dish. It's particularly flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States