Risotto with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Excellent risotto recipe. The flavors were wonderful. I used chicken broth instead of veg. broth and it worked fine. Make sure you have extra broth on hand if needed. Cutting back on the cheese is a good idea unless you want it very gooey. I added extra tomatoes. Risotto has a completely different texture than rice does and may seem gooey to some, especially after cheese is added, but is very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I'm sorry -- I hate to give a bad review, but I did not like this recipe at all. I really thought it was going to be wonderful since I enjoy all of the ingredients it contains. However, after after I added the cheese to the dish, it became a huge solid hunk of goo that didn't even taste anything special. In the end, it was a waste of food, not to mention time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Great recipe. However, it takes much longer than the suggested time to prepare. I was adding the vegetable stock for about an hour or more. I also decided to take the advice from the otehr reviews and use less cheese. I only used a half cup of each, but found this to STILL be too much. I would advise on using 1/4 cup of each cheese at most, and adding more sundried tomatoes. otherwise, it was a fun recipe, and easy for a first-time risotto maker like myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
the flavor was amazing, but i had a little trouble with the texture. i'm assuming (as this was my first time) that practice will fix that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
The vegetable broth was a little strong; i suggest watering it down a bit. the rice took longer than 25 minutes to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This was well worth the effort. However, I would recommend using less cheese as it was a bit overpowering. I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and I was extremely pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I was very pleased with this recipe. I am an impatient cook so I just dumped some broth in, let it soak up and the rice was still a bit chewy so I added some more broth ice cubes until they weren't chewy. Next time maybe I'll add chicken to make it a meal. Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This was good, however I needed more than stock than what the recipe called for. Also, 2 cups of cheese is WAY too much. I'd say maybe a half cup total would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Though the flavor was very good (I'm a lover of sun dried tomatoes), the rice did not cook as was expected in the recipe. I ended up using 6 cups of vegetable stock plus an additional cup of water and the rice still had not cooked properly and did not have the creamy texture that risotto is supposed to have. Also, when it was finished cooking it was incredibly thick and a bit too aldente. Overall, it was a lot of work for a not so great turnout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This is a little work, but my guests seem to gather in the kitchen so it's not so hard to look after. Plus it was great, and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States