Risotto with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Love my Doxie
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This is a great risotto recipe! I do agree that the mozzarella is a little peculiar and I would probably not use it next time. I used 4 c. of chicken stock and 1 1/2 c. of white wine and it was just right. As others did, I also added some garlic. I also didn't have sun dried tomatoes but I did have a sun-dried tomato pesto sauce so I used that and it tastes wonderful. I didn't use much salt as there is salt in that sauce. I added grilled chopped chicken breast pieces for a perfect meal. I would definitely make this again. It would be a great side dish without the meat to accompany any grilled meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I have to say that every Risotto I've ever made has failed dismally until tonight! This one was great. Absolutely gorgeous. Really tasty. Even my picky hubby said how nice it was. Yes it took some work, but it was well worth it. The only things I did different was to use wafer thin slices (done with a potato peeler) of Parmesan instead of grated Parmesan. And I saved some for the end to sprinkle over the top to serve along with a few wild rocket leaves. If there were six stars to award, this recipe would have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poldweia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northolt, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. I make risotto often and made this recipe because my husband loves tomatoes. He loved it! I did reduce the vegetable stock to 4 cups and added 1 cup of white wine before the stock. I always use white wine when cooking risotto. I also used shallots instead of onion and several cloves of garlic. I agree with others that there is too much cheese, expecially mozarella. I would use 1 cup parmesan/asiago next time and 1/4-1/2 cup of mozzarella. I do not understand why anyone would need additional liquid if they prepared the risotto properly. Also, others mentioned it took longer -- they must not have the heat turned up high enough. The veggie stock was very tasty and I was skeptical beforehand. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
If the mozzarella was left out, I would have given 5 stars. Didn't care for the consistency. Parmasean alone, it would have been great. Added garlic powder and fresh parsley.(didn't have basil) Will make again with changes noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
The taste is very good; a great side dish to Baby back ribs done on the BBQ. The only negative would be that during the 25 minutes you are stirring in the vegie stock, it is very labor intensive for the one who stirs. Still a small price to pay for an excellent dish. Moops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I liked it as did my boyfriend. I used half an onion and added two tablespoons of pesto to sub for mozz cheese as I only had parm cheese on hand. It took closer to 35 minutes. Oh, and I cooked it all in one pot. I sauteed onions with olive oil in the pot and then added the risotto. Oh, and I added a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I added some fresh garlic and used chicken broth instead of vegatable, as well as adding a half cup of white wine to the dish (before the broth). I also used a few more sundried tomatoes - because both myself and husband really enjoy them. I used both Mozzeralla as well as Asiago Cheese (but only 3/4 of what was called for in the receipe - next time I will use even less). It turned out really well and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I accidently added the tomatoes in the beginning. I didn't have veggie stock, so I used chicken. Pretty good. I'd cut down on the cheeses to about 75%. I also added an extra 1/2 c. of liquid because it wasn't soft enough. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Very delicious!! We will work this in when we are in the mood for risotto! In the end I also added a fresh tomato I had left. I did reduce the parmesan cheese. Maybe it's not 100% traditional, but it's tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Didn't care for the consistency, and I didn't feel that the finished product warranted all the time, even if it was an easy recipe. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States