Risotto with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! I only changed a couple of things due to not having them on hand-for example, instead of vegetable stock I used chicken stock,and instead of fresh basil I had dried-and it still came out great! I also substituted dried sun dried tomatoes and added only a few diced pieces to taste. I used smoked mozzarella and parmigian reggiano cheese, again to sub for what I did not have. I also added chopped fresh garlic. This is only the second time I have made a risotto dish, and I have to say great job to the person who came up with this recipe-wonderful! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I have made this twice now, the only change I make from original is to decrease the cheese and add a bit of wine before I add the chicken broth.My husband loves this, and it is a real croud pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
It took much longer than 25 minutes to cook away the broth (I think it was closer to 45-50 minutes) and I thought it was bland. Adding seasoned salt and garlic helped. I'm not sure if I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Delicious. We served this with turkey meatballs and butternut squash, a meal fit for a queen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was a delicious recipe. I used the vegetable broth (cooking for a vegetarian) and it came out delicious. I suggest sticking with the veggie broth, rather than chicken. Also, rice cooks very slowly, I think covering it might help speed up the absorption of water. Lastly, I agree that there is too much cheese, even though it was DELICIOUS. I'd at least cut it in half. Also, it was anything but bland. If it tastes bland, then you did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was okay. Nothing too special or wow for flavor. Also kind of expensive ingredients. Made alot and half of it went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.B. Sitzman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
We did not care for this. I think it may have been the vegetable broth. Maybe the natural flavor of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Bland and heavy. Too much work for something neither of us really liked. Not even going to save the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Ah, I made this a couple of weeks ago, so I can't remember exactly what my boyfriend and I thought of it. We liked it quite a bit, but I believe there ought to be less cheese. It's good, but not great. I prefer the simpler and more classic herb risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whittysx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This is quite possibly one of the best risotto recipes I've ever made. It's so simple and perfect. I used 3 1/4 c. chicken broth instead of veg stock, and 1 c. risotto. It came out perfect with those measurements. I served it with filet mignon (brushed the filets with the oil from the tomatoes) and buttered asparagus for my wedding anniversary. A perfectly fancy meal in the comfort of our own home! My husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wallace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States