Risotto with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Boyfriend approved. It wasn't out of this world but for my first shot at Risotto, pretty simple. It took MUCH longer to cook than stated and was a little annoying to babysit the rice to keep adding the stock. But using the tomato oil is awesome! I used four 14oz cans of veggie stock and I think that worked out well. Though I wish I had some extra just in case because I cook at high altitude. I used the cheese as recommended because we like things cheesy... and it was VERY cheesy. Served as a main dish with broccoli on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This was my first risotto I ever made and was unsure what to expect. It took a little longer then the recipe called for and a little more stock. I used chicken stock instead of the vegetable stock. This was possibly one of the best things I have ever eaten though! I have told my entire family about it and promised to make it for a holiday meal some time soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe. I halved the recipe because I only made this for four people. Added mushrooms and garlic because we love them. Didn't put in any basil because the store was all out, but will definitely put it in next time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe almost exactly except I used dried basil instead of fresh. Also had to add water at the end because rice wasn't done after all the broth was absorbed. Tastes pretty good. Not as flavorful as I had expected it to be, but I think that's because of the water. Next time I will try using white wine or have more broth on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Too much cheese, not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kierabs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I used sundried tomato pesto, same amount, because it was already chopped. It came out really good, tasted kinda like pizza. This dish has a good potential to be kid friendly and vegetarian friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I ran out of liquids at 5 cups and because I prefer my risotto especially creamy, I'll be better prepared to have at least 6 cups if not more on hand. I suggest dicing tomatoes so you get some with every bite! Halved mozzarella. A nice, rich dish to accompany fish or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThnkThn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
We really enjoyed this. I like the flavor of the sun dried tomatoes, love the idea of using the oil from the jar. I cut the cheese back a bit and added white wine before starting the broth additions. I make a lot of risotto and didn't have any trouble cooking this-it cooked the same as any risotto, took about 25 minutes once I started adding the broth. The only thing I will say is that with the cheese and tomato oil it is quite rich, so be prepared! Very yummy and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made this last night for dinner--Delicious! This is a main dish in itself, no need to add anything else. I kept my mozzarella in cubes so that it didn't melt completely, and also used only about 1/2 cup of parmesan which was plenty. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was delicious! Like others I had to add a lot more vegetable stock and it took a lot longer to cook but everything else was amazing! I did not think it had too much cheese like others said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States