Risotto with Chicken, Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was really good. I found there was too much meat. I added about 6 chopped mushrooms. I saw that there would be extra broth left over, that there was too much meat and vegetables so I added an extra 4 ounces of orzo. I also added a little peach champagne to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This dish as a hit with my family. Some picky eaters in the bunch, but my wife and I and all 4 kids loved it. I substituted andouille sausage and kielbasa for the linguica. The timing for the orzo was perfect. I up sized the dish to feed everyone. Excellent favors and creaminess of the orzo. Will definitely be makin ghtis one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I used chicken sausage instead of Linguica for a lighter fare. I added a bit of Cayenne Pepper to jazz it up also. I usually use Arborio Rice for risotto but Orzo worked just fine. I did cut back on the herbs. 1 Tbsp was a bit too much I thought. It was a hit with the family and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
My whole family loved this! I usually try to stay true to the original recipe the first time I make it, but a few of the ingredients can't be found in my little town. I had Hillshire Farms Cheddarwurst on hand and substituted it for the linguica. I used one large jalapeno pepper, and took the others reviewers suggestion and doubled the orzo, and the flavors were amazing. Came out so good, even my picky eater cleaned his plate. Smelled so good while it was cooking as well! Thanks Chef John for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Delicious, as others have said there is too much meat. 4 chicken thighs and 1/2 pound of sausage are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this last night and it came out amazing.. my boyfriend said it was a top dish. the only difference in this recipe is that I cooked all the veggies with the meat and I used two different sausages a spicy italian and a something else that wasnt so spicy ( a good mix) and insitead of shredding the chicken I just kept it as is. When I sauted the all of the veggies with the sausage it came it out very flavorfull. This was a very flavorfull dish.. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is an excellent change up from the same old boring chicken! The spices really make this dish flavorful and the red bell pepper gives it color and a texture. Browning the chicken is a must because you get those great flavors left in the pan. I didn't have a bay leaf but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. If I was to make any change at all, it would only be to pare back the amount of meat or increase the orzo. Thank you for this great recipe, this one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Photo by TheCarl
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great flavors but a little too much meat. Next time I think I will add more pasta and scale back the two meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCarl
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was my first attempt at risotto and I was really nervous, but I followed the directions exactly and it turned out wonderful- creamy and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States