Risotto with Chicken and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I took the advice of the other reviewers and added an extra cup of stock and some mushrooms, and this was AMAZING. 4 stars as written, 5 with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This recipe was just okay. I ended up having to add extra broth because the rice was still under cooked. Didn't really care for the overall flavors either. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This wasn't perfect, but it was so nice, I'll give it 5 stars anyway. I made it pretty much exactly as written, except I had a bit more chicken, 1.17# (17.17 oz.) instead of the 10 oz. specified. (I have no idea where people find chicken breasts that small.) I didn't know what kind of white wine to use, so I used a Moscato d'Asti, which is sweet. The "add stock, and stir some more" steps were a bit involved, but I took the time. I'm not very experienced with risotto, but I've made a few different recipes, and in comparison this one didn't seem to come out with the desired "creamy" rice texture. Overall, though, I enjoyed eating this over two dinners, and it's still worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I had never made risotto before and it came out beautifully. I was so proud of this dish and I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I love this recipe and so do my kids! The only variation that I use is substituting frozen peas for the asparagus and using a full 4 cup container of chicken stock instead of 2 cups to make the rice nice and soft. This is one of my family's go to dinners and usually makes our weekly menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this vegetarian and added a bit more asparagus. Also, instead of wine I used more chicken broth and 1 or 2 tsp red wine vinegar. I also only used 1/4 cup cheese as that's all it needed for my taste. Very delicious and I believe it would have been just as delicious without the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great recipe, but agree with the other reviewers comments regarding the wine (increased by adding 1 1/2 times what the recipe called for) and broth. I needed more than double the broth as what the recipe called for in order to get the risotto to the softness I wanted. I also needed to add some salt and garlic powder for a little more taste. All in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Made correctly this is beyond a 5 star recipe--I used approximately 5 cups of chicken broth and skipped the Parmesan cheese (was out). Incredibly delicious! I diced the asparagus stalks but left the tips in tact (added the tips during the last round of broth). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I loved this dish. I exchanged the oregano and basil for lemon zest. Also added some diced chicken to make it more of filling meal. Everyone enjoyed this risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was my first attempt at risotto. I read some of the other comment and was concerned about the amount of liquid. I ended up using 2 1/2 cups (split in three) and it worked fine. I probably could have done the 2 cups. Other than that this recipes was pretty easy and straightforward. This was a really tasty recipe and I will def. make it again. I made it as a side dish so I left out the chicken. The recipes yielded a lot, I would think it is more than two servings even as a main. I also noticed the nutritional information seems very high, even for the large portions. When I put the recipe into a nutrition calculator, it came back less than posted on here (I did with and without chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States