Risotto with Chicken and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I've made it several times now. Like all risotto dishes, the stirring is a pain in the neck. But... it is delicious and worth the effort. Even my 12-year old who doesn't fancy asparagus all that much loved it. My family cheers when I suggest it for dinner! As other reviewers have mentioned, you might need to add more water as you go to ensure a creamy texture. But that's a minor point that almost goes without saying anytime you make a rice dish, so I'm not going to knock a star off for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I took the advice of the other reviewers and added an extra cup of stock and some mushrooms, and this was AMAZING. 4 stars as written, 5 with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This recipe was just okay. I ended up having to add extra broth because the rice was still under cooked. Didn't really care for the overall flavors either. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This wasn't perfect, but it was so nice, I'll give it 5 stars anyway. I made it pretty much exactly as written, except I had a bit more chicken, 1.17# (17.17 oz.) instead of the 10 oz. specified. (I have no idea where people find chicken breasts that small.) I didn't know what kind of white wine to use, so I used a Moscato d'Asti, which is sweet. The "add stock, and stir some more" steps were a bit involved, but I took the time. I'm not very experienced with risotto, but I've made a few different recipes, and in comparison this one didn't seem to come out with the desired "creamy" rice texture. Overall, though, I enjoyed eating this over two dinners, and it's still worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I had never made risotto before and it came out beautifully. I was so proud of this dish and I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I love this recipe and so do my kids! The only variation that I use is substituting frozen peas for the asparagus and using a full 4 cup container of chicken stock instead of 2 cups to make the rice nice and soft. This is one of my family's go to dinners and usually makes our weekly menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this vegetarian and added a bit more asparagus. Also, instead of wine I used more chicken broth and 1 or 2 tsp red wine vinegar. I also only used 1/4 cup cheese as that's all it needed for my taste. Very delicious and I believe it would have been just as delicious without the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great recipe, but agree with the other reviewers comments regarding the wine (increased by adding 1 1/2 times what the recipe called for) and broth. I needed more than double the broth as what the recipe called for in order to get the risotto to the softness I wanted. I also needed to add some salt and garlic powder for a little more taste. All in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Made correctly this is beyond a 5 star recipe--I used approximately 5 cups of chicken broth and skipped the Parmesan cheese (was out). Incredibly delicious! I diced the asparagus stalks but left the tips in tact (added the tips during the last round of broth). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I loved this dish. I exchanged the oregano and basil for lemon zest. Also added some diced chicken to make it more of filling meal. Everyone enjoyed this risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States