Ripe Olive Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I could serve this WITHOUT the yogurt dressing, perhaps doubling the vinegar, oil, salt, pepper and dill...it was that good. Unlike some other reviewers, we did not find the dill overpowering, but then we do love dill . Couple things I will do differently in the future. I will use olive oil instead of vegetable oil and thick greek yogurt to keep the dressing from becoming too runny. It was a nice change from a traditional mayo-based potato salad and pretty healthy for you. It was a good side dish to marinated and grilled New York strip steaks and homemade french fried onion rings...peach shortcakes completed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I was so glad to find this recipe...I have had one very similar to this at one of my favorite restaurants and I get cravings for it. This was so close to that and will become a staple in our household for family gatherings and we have them on a regular basis. This was perfect also for my hubby who cannot eat the traditional one due to egg allergies! Thanks for this awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
My family didn't care for this recipe. It's more of a Greek twist w/out the cheese. I would say that you should use small potatos or better yet, peel and dice your potatos first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was really quite good. I'll make it again, but maybe with less dill, or maybe a different herb that will compliment the really yummy honey-mustard dressing. Thank you for submitting this low-fat, no mayo recipe. My husband and I both enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Mesic, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I'm not sure what to say about this recipe. I liked it better before I added the yogurt/honey/mustard mixture. The taste after adding the yogurt mixture didn't really do that much for me. It did taste FRESH and LIGHT and I did like the use of yogurt instead of mayo but ... I guess the dill and olives combination just didn't knock my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
I was really torn on how to rate this recipe. It was good, but not what I was expecting. If you really LOVE dill then you'll love this recipe. I was more excited about the 'Honey Mustard' dressing, but it was drowned out by the dill flavor. If I try it again, I'll cut back on the dill just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
I loved this salad. Oddly enough, I didn't have any olives, so I used virgin olive oil in the dressing. I also substituted lemon juice for the vinegar and thyme for the dill. It was nice and creamy (I used partially drained yogurt, which was thicker). Thanks for the recipe Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Fresh, Fresh, Fresh! I am not a fan of mayonaise based potatoe salads, so that limits my options! This recipe fit the bill! It was still creamy (so fans of mayo will approve), but light and extremely fresh tasting. A super summer dish. I made it just as directed, except without the celery, and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I have to agree with the last rating - it was GREAT!! I doubled the recipe and it was all gone by the end of the day. The flavors were bright and can not compare to anyother potato salad I have ever made. I used fresh dill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Oh, man, I will never make another potato salad!! The dressing was delicious. I like mine a little "wetter" though so I'll probably double the dressing recipe next time. But the flavors are awesome and it smells so good after sitting all night. Not difficult to make at all. I used red-skinned potatoes and black olives right out of the can. It looked great and tasted so flavorful and refreshing on our 4th of July picnic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States