Rigatoni with Italian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this recipe on a whim, but had to change it because I was not about to go out to the store. I had some frozen Foster Farms chicken thighs from Costco, not breasts. Had some canned diced tomatoes. I didn't have Italian dressing, but I did have great extra-virgin olive oil, balsamic vinegar, basil, oregano, Paul Prudhomme's Poultry Magic, Emeril's Essence, and sea salt flakes with rosemary. Plus black peppercorns which I toasted in a skillet and then ground with a mortar and pestle. And some garlic. Defrosted the chicken using the defrost setting on the microwave. I then marinated the chicken in the mixture above (minus the pepper and garlic). Maybe 20 minutes? Sauteed the garlic for a minute, then threw in the chicken, but without cutting it up. Was making the rigatoni on the side (don't ever forget....LOTS of salt for the boiling pasta water!). Close to when I thought the chicken was done, I took it out and THEN rough-chopped it. Then back in the skillet. Drained the pasta and tossed it with the freshly ground toasted black pepper. Then tossed it all with the chicken and some parmesan cheese (I'd rather do something like pecorino romano, but for a quickie the parm did the trick). It came out tender as heck, and SUPER-flavorful. Spouse loved it and was raving. So was I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComputerUp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
it was good but it wasnt for us.it looked so good but when i toke a bite of it it wasnt enough flavor.i might try it again changing the suace i put in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Was easy will make again for that reason. Wasn't the best meal but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This was a wonderful recipe. I changed just a few things. I cooked my chicken in olive oil instead of the butter and then added the chicken, an onion, tomatoes, and tomato sauce. I mixed the noodles with the chicken mixture in the skillet and added parmesean cheese and parsley. I let this simmer 3 minutes until the cheese was melted and served it hot (We like hot sauces better than the luke-warm kind). All in all a great recipe that we will definitely have again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I just made this tonight and it was great. I scaled the recipe down to 3 servings and it worked out great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I wanna start off by saying how much my family loved this dish!!!! My 2 year old has now ate the leftovers for lunch and dinner for the last two days since I made this!! I did make a few minor changes. First I only had 4 chicken breast so I used what I had. The next change I made was I diced the chciken up and seasond it with Salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders. I then marinated it for a few hours instead of just 30 mins. I then used 2 14 oz cans of tomatoe sauce with the diced tomatoes. I left the red pepper flakes out because of the kids eating this. I mixed the noodles, chicken, and cheese together to finish it up!!! I will say it really needed the 6 chicken breast because the kids were asking for more chicken and now we really just have noodles left over and no more chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Came out very tasty. I substituted Red Hot for the red pepper flakes. The sauce didn't come out thick enough - I recommend using 1 14 oz of the diced tomatoes and 1 14 oz of tomato sauce and heating them up first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie McComb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Fantastic! It was like eating a slice of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
i found this recipe really bland. that could be because the tomatoes i got were not italian herbed they were just plain. the chicken pieces are awesome, the italian dressing marinade really made it moist and tender! that would probably be where my 3 star rating came from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shaunavon, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Don't know why I never thought of marinating the chicken in Italian dressing before! The tomatoes made a good sauce once I let them cook for a bit. I threw in some green beans as well. It was eaten quickly and with enthusiasm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States