Rigatoni with Eggplant, Mushrooms and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Delicious! I added fresh basil once I took the dish off the heat, and used mushroom broth instead of meat broth. I wanted to make a vegetarian dinner for my meat loving family, so I picked this because it seemed hearty enough for meat eaters. It was delicious, and no one asked where the meat was, so it was a total success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Really enjoyed this recipe after modifications: took advice of others, and increased garlic and red pepper. Replaced chicken broth with red wine. Added a bag of arugula towards the end- added a nice spiciness and some more veggies! The goat cheese made the sauce nice and creamy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This is great as is, but we actually prefer to puree it after following the instructions. Great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This was ok ....eatible but not fantastic. I really don't know what all the hype is about tasted kinda bland even after adding 6 cloves of garlic and more red pepper. Don't think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Love it! It was like eggplant parmesan disassembled. I used half a can of diced tomatoes, half a can of puréed, red wine instead of the broth and Greek feta instead of the plain goat cheese, and added some dried oregano and basil. With a baguette and a glass of wine, it made a lovely meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Very good recipe. I had some gorgonzola on hand, so I used that instead of goat cheese and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is very easy to make and could easily be served for company. To make the dish spicier I used a bit more red pepper flakes and blended a few jarred roasted red peppers in a food processor and added them to the sauce (about 1/2 cup blended). I omitted the mushrooms. Next time I make it, I'm going to top the pasta with slices of sirloin steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was an excellant dish! I took leftovers to work for lunch and all my co-workers were jealous. I don't care for goat cheese so I used feta instead. I also used whole wheat rigatoni. I think the next time I make it I'll use penna instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I was a little skeptical about this when I was making it, but it was good, and really easy to make. The goat cheese and olives make this dish really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I doubled the amount of mushrooms to 16 ounces, added in several handfuls of chopped, fresh spinach, reduced the oil by half and added some red wine and red pepper flakes for heat. The tomatoes I used had Italian spices added already. Instead of goat cheese, I used Boursin gourney cheese with herbs, which is what I had on hand. When it melted along with the sauce, it tasted very much like La Madeleine's tomato basil soup, with chunky veggies in it, of course. I served it over whole grain rotini pasta. Even my husband liked it a lot, even though there wasn't any meat in it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States