Rigatoni with Eggplant, Mushrooms and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very tasty! Goat cheese is a staple in our home and this was a great mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Walkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I didn't have enough of two of the main ingredients (only had 2 mushrooms! and about 3oz of goat cheese) so I had to modify this recipe to some degree but what it became was wonderful!!! I tried halving the recipe but wanted to use all the eggplant so in truth I used the recipe halved, but doubled the eggplant (and - as it turned out - the cheese!). As I was so short of goat cheese, I used feta AND blue cheese so the cheese amount was actually doubled also. Oh and as I was cooking the sauce, it reminded me of a Putanesca sauce I make so I added some anchovies and two diced spicy Italian sausages. And I didn't have rigatoni, so I used rotini. Followed the rest of the directions though. Mmmmm good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Doubled the garlic, halved the goat cheese and added some basil and black pepper. This is awesome. I need to feed a vegetarian friend tomorrow with the leftovers and I'm very happy I picked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Extremely yummy! - the feta (goats cheese) in it really makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This turned out great! However, I followed other suggestions and made my own changes. First, I roasted the eggplant because I love the rich flavor of roasted vegetables. I pricked the eggplant and spread some olive oil over it before placing in a pan and baking it in my Krups combo oven at 375 degrees for 30 min. After letting it cool, I cut the eggplant in half lengthwise and simply scraped the meat off the skin - no peeling necessary! I also added more seasonings to the sauce and used the following proportions: 1 medium bay leaf, 1 tsp. each of salt & thyme, 1/2 tsp. each of rosemary, oregano & basil, 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. Other changes: 1 medium onion, 5 garlic cloves, substituted water for broth & increased amount to 1 cup, replaced goat cheese with feta. I also added some leftover frozen chopped spinach towards the end of the cooking time. I used penne pasta instead of rigatoni. I cooked the sauce for over an hour to reduce the extra water and let all the seasonings do their thing. It was really wonderful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLYNX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is SO good. I didn't care for how it looked once I mixed in the goat cheese so if serving for company I would serve the goat cheese sprinkled on top instead of mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My husband and I enjoyed this....I used half of an onion, black olives, wheat pasta, and additional mushrooms, and it turned out great. Be prepared for a somewhat expensive meal though...the goat cheese is pricey (but worth it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Although it was tasty, it needed "doctoring" up for flavor. For the effort I believe there are better recipes recipes out there. Unsure whether or not I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was delicious! Increased the spices as suggested and loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was incredible! I have three little boys and they ALL loved this dish. I did have to peel the eggplant to disguise it a little, but otherwise I didn't really stray much from the recipe. We're adding this one into the rotation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States