Rigatoni Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is pretty good. I did change things a little bit. I added some taco seasoning to the meat while it was cooking, and used a whole bell pepper. Also had some cheese sauce that needed to be used and since it was cheddar I used that. Added half and half instead of cream topped with some Monterrey Jack cheese and olives. I didn't have any rigatoni so I just used fettuccine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
nICE SURPRISE! WE LIKE SPICEY AND THIS WAS GREAT. Used Hot Picante sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
add a handful more cheese round out the cream and sour cream to 1/2 cup and bake in ovenfor 1/2 hr or so this is great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
EXCELLENT!!! Like a vodka sauce with a little bit of spice!!!! WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I will definetely be making this again. My picky eater husband and bro-in-law ATE IT UP! I did what some others suggested, added some extra cheeze on top and threw it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
no changes to the recipe. this tastey meal was filling as well. my husband didn't complain an hour after dinner that he was still hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
A wicked good recipe. I tried to make it a little more healty by using whole wheat rigatoni, and it worked out great. It made it a little more al dente, which prevents the mushiness that some reviewers reported.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I have made this a few times now and would rate the first time (exactly as directed as a 3 1/2 or 4 but with the following additions it made it a strong 5! I followed the advice of adding 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream. I also added chili pepper and cheyenne pepper. I added zucchini for extra veggies and used Barilla PLus penna pasta and an extra handful of cheddar. I thought the additions made a huge difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is delicious and very husband friendly. I used half and half in place of the heavy cream, added a couple of dashes of cayenne for a little kick and added mushrooms and additional peppers. This made a great comfort food meal for a cool, fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used spaghetti noodles since that's what was leftover. Garlic powder, onion powder, and minced onion. No bell pepper. 24 oz tomato sauce (one can no salt added). I used heavy cream since it was leftover, but I think fat free halk and half would be OK. Was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States