Ricotta Stuffed Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2000
This is a good recipe. It does well when cut in half. To add quickness cook squash in microwave. Cook halves on a plate for 1 1/2 min on high. Test every 45 sec. for tenderness. I would suggest eating with tomato sauce. Good without, better with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
I thought this was great! I made a lot of changes. I sauted the scooped out parts with the onion and garlic and omitted the spinach. It took about 50 minutes to cook. Anyway, it was delicious and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2000
The results are very nice, but the number of pots and pans are not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Yum! This is one of my favorite vegetarian dishes! I top it with plenty of warmed roasted garlic marinara sauce. No accompanying side dish is necessary. It works great by itself. I would caution against overcooking the squash as it makes it watery and mushy. This dish would also work well with some basil mixed into the spinach and mozzarella cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
The filling was fantastic, my favorite part. I added a seeded, chopped tomato, a dash of red pepper flakes, and added chopped fresh basil. I couldn't stop eating the filling while cooking. I microwaved the sqaush for 2 minutes then put it in the over for 5 minutes before adding the filling. 20 minutes before it was done I added swiss cheese to the top. Served it with fresh parmesan cheese and warm tomato sauce. Excellent, will definitely make again. Oh yeah, this dish is HUGE, you don't need any sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
My husband raves over this one! I've made it with zucchini with equal success. I've also done some small modifications, depending on what I have on hand (mozzarella vs. parm..) Definitely a keeper! A great way to use extra squash from the garden, or just to incorporate a different veggie into your meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
beautiful presentation and the filling is fantastic (with minor changes). I boiled and then baked my squash (brushed with oul and lightly seasoned with salt and paper)...however the squash was still semi-hard in some places so next time I will microwave then bake. For the filing, I sauteed the onion, garlic, and scooped out squash with butter and olive oil...I also added one small seeded jalepeno pepper. While sauteeing I salted the veggies and then added the spinach which I salted to taste later. We used the left over filling to make pizza and plan to use the filling for a sauceless lasagna. Do try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Very tasty. I baked them with meat sauce. It tasted a little like lasagna without the noodles and carbs. Served with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
This recipe was very good. We had it over spaghetti noodles and served garlic bread on the side. The only thing I would do differant is cook the squash longer. My family likes our veggies soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
YUMMY! I used 2 ( four halves) very large garden squash and then halved the other ingredients. Lightened it up a little by using LOWFAT ricotta, sauteing the onion, etc., in olive oil with just a tiny bit of I can't believe it's not butter. Partially cooked the squash in the microwave, then sprayed it with Parkay Butter spray. Used my Misto to spray olive oil on the pan I was going to bake them on. Added chopped, fresh garden basil to the spinach mixture. Had some leftover spaghetti sauce I'd made using garden tomatoes and turkey italian sausage that I put over the top before serving. Our plates were clean! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States