Ricotta Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I scaled back this recipe and made this pie for my parents on Thanksgiving Day. They said the taste was good, but I over-cooked it. Because the pie seemed loose, I left it in the oven too long. I now realize that when the knife is clean and it's still loose, take the pie out of the oven and let it sit. I will make this again on Christmas morning. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
this was a hit at our party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatneko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I think it's ok. Why so many eggs? It shouldn't have an eggy taste like another reviewer said. My mothers' recipe was almost exactly like Chef Giovanni's mothers. Maybe four eggs at the most. Deliciouso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
MADE FOR EASTER HOLIDAY WAS CREAMY AND MOIST GOOD TASTE JUST LIKE GRANDMOMS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Wow, seeing this recipe and reading the reviews brought tears to my eyes. My mother and aunts all made this Easter tradition. My aunt Teresa(Tia Tresia) made this and put prisuto in it, an old Abbruzzi recipe called Chatoon, Madonna wasa disa guud. My mother used white raisens and chocolate chips. Any way you make it its like heaven which I am sure is where all these great gals are. God Bless them all. Food is love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This recipe was very good, but not what I expected. It tasted like a sweet quiche. It was a different consistency as I expected as well. A little too eggy for a Ricotta pie but overall a great recipe and very easy to make!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe keeps old world traditions alive. I have been making ricotta pie since I was A kid, with my Mom. This is a very similar recipe. My Mom used to put lemon and orange rind grated in batter. Also some of the juice from the citrus fruit. I have been a chef for many years and was very impressed, great job. Happy holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
The pie was beautiful, but the consistency a bit odd for those of us not used to this kind of pie. I was expecting it to be more like a custard pie, but consistency wise it was like a crumbly quiche. I cooked it only 80 minutes and added 1 t salt to pastry dough and 4 t vanilla to filling. Taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
My Grandmother used to make a lucious Ricotta Pie every Easter. Unfortunatley, never had anything written down, as the recipe was in her head. This recipe is very, very close to what she made. She never put the chocolate in her pie, but a lot of the other Italian ladies did. We just omit the chocolate, and it's just like Grandma used to make! Thank you so much for this recipe!!! One beloved tradtion will continue through many more generations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Black

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
its good but it fakes time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States