Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Probably the best pie I've ever had. I did cheat and use premade crust. Next I plan to try it with a little crushed pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kempner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I made this recipe last Easter and was so happy to find it again on this web site (after misplacing it) that I signed up. I did not find it "eggy" at all. It came out just like the ricotta pies we had at Easter when I was a kid, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I've tried to make different versions of this pie and this one was far and above the best. Its the first time my family really raved about this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Awesome!!My family loved it on easter, will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I left out the chocolate chips and crust! Everyone absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This recipe is indeed an old itilian recipe. MY mother in law is from Italy and I have made one very similar for many years. I will try this one for this Easter. This kind of cheese pie is very different from a regular cheam cheese pie, I think you have to either hate it or love it. We love it. We have it for Easter as a tradition . It does have an eggy taste but thats what it is supposed to have. Try it you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is a beautiful recipe, I have replaced my recipe, for this one. I have made it for Easter for the past 2 years. Great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My Sicilian grandmother makes this, minus the chocolate. She calls it "Pizza Dolce", which means sweet pizza/pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This recipe is perfect just as it is - everyone raved about it. I have had many variations of this, but by far this is the best. It does make a lot so you definitely have to use deep-dish pie pans or you will have too much. It is very filling, so next time I may cut this in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States