Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This recipe is indeed an old itilian recipe. MY mother in law is from Italy and I have made one very similar for many years. I will try this one for this Easter. This kind of cheese pie is very different from a regular cheam cheese pie, I think you have to either hate it or love it. We love it. We have it for Easter as a tradition . It does have an eggy taste but thats what it is supposed to have. Try it you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I made this recipe last Easter and was so happy to find it again on this web site (after misplacing it) that I signed up. I did not find it "eggy" at all. It came out just like the ricotta pies we had at Easter when I was a kid, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This recipe requires 16 eggs, 12 of which are in the filling....unfortunately, it tastes very "eggy" and was unappealing. Otherwise, the pies look good and are somewhat tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Based on the reviews of other, I cut back on the eggs and only used 10. I also added 4 pounds of ricotta instead of 3. This made the pies less custard like but they were too sweet. Otherwise, a very good recipe. Next time I will also cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Probably the best pie I've ever had. I did cheat and use premade crust. Next I plan to try it with a little crushed pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kempner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is a beautiful recipe, I have replaced my recipe, for this one. I have made it for Easter for the past 2 years. Great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I've tried to make different versions of this pie and this one was far and above the best. Its the first time my family really raved about this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was absolutely delightful! The flavor of this reminds me a lot of English custard, as well as in texture to a small degree. My boyfriend and I made it for a dinner party with some of our friends and it was enjoyed ( and eaten right up) by everyone. The one downfall is the amount it makes. We made one 9 inch and one 7 inch pie and still have enough mix to make probably two or possibly three more 9 inch pies. So if your not looking to make pies for the masses, I would suggest halving it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
An interesting dish. I made it for Easter. It made far too much filling, it filled 2 deep dish pies and one regular. Worth a try if you've never tried it before, but my family and I personally didn't care too much for it. It tasted sort of like a custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States