Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This recipe requires 16 eggs, 12 of which are in the filling....unfortunately, it tastes very "eggy" and was unappealing. Otherwise, the pies look good and are somewhat tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I made this recipe last Easter and was so happy to find it again on this web site (after misplacing it) that I signed up. I did not find it "eggy" at all. It came out just like the ricotta pies we had at Easter when I was a kid, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This recipe is indeed an old itilian recipe. MY mother in law is from Italy and I have made one very similar for many years. I will try this one for this Easter. This kind of cheese pie is very different from a regular cheam cheese pie, I think you have to either hate it or love it. We love it. We have it for Easter as a tradition . It does have an eggy taste but thats what it is supposed to have. Try it you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
An interesting dish. I made it for Easter. It made far too much filling, it filled 2 deep dish pies and one regular. Worth a try if you've never tried it before, but my family and I personally didn't care too much for it. It tasted sort of like a custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This pie was great. It is best served chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I've tried to make different versions of this pie and this one was far and above the best. Its the first time my family really raved about this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is a beautiful recipe, I have replaced my recipe, for this one. I have made it for Easter for the past 2 years. Great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this. However, it was not as big a hit with my children so I am only giving it a 4 star. Thanks for the recipe. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Based on the reviews of other, I cut back on the eggs and only used 10. I also added 4 pounds of ricotta instead of 3. This made the pies less custard like but they were too sweet. Otherwise, a very good recipe. Next time I will also cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States