Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is the best - just like what my Grandmother used to make!!! Made this for dessert on New Years' Day - the family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Amazing pie! I love the soft sweet flavor until you bite into a chocolate chip. Delicious! All that I can recommend is not to make it as a deep dish pie because it take too long to cook and the crust either gets too stiff or it burns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Talbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was absolutely delightful! The flavor of this reminds me a lot of English custard, as well as in texture to a small degree. My boyfriend and I made it for a dinner party with some of our friends and it was enjoyed ( and eaten right up) by everyone. The one downfall is the amount it makes. We made one 9 inch and one 7 inch pie and still have enough mix to make probably two or possibly three more 9 inch pies. So if your not looking to make pies for the masses, I would suggest halving it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I only made half the recipe since it made so much! My husband loved it! I used splenda in place of the sugar and used pre-made pie crust. I also used the sugar free chocolate chips and chopped them up into smaller pieces before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This recipe is perfect just as it is - everyone raved about it. I have had many variations of this, but by far this is the best. It does make a lot so you definitely have to use deep-dish pie pans or you will have too much. It is very filling, so next time I may cut this in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My Sicilian grandmother makes this, minus the chocolate. She calls it "Pizza Dolce", which means sweet pizza/pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I left out the chocolate chips and crust! Everyone absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Probably the best pie I've ever had. I did cheat and use premade crust. Next I plan to try it with a little crushed pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kempner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Awesome!!My family loved it on easter, will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Based on the reviews of other, I cut back on the eggs and only used 10. I also added 4 pounds of ricotta instead of 3. This made the pies less custard like but they were too sweet. Otherwise, a very good recipe. Next time I will also cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States