Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was absolutely delightful! The flavor of this reminds me a lot of English custard, as well as in texture to a small degree. My boyfriend and I made it for a dinner party with some of our friends and it was enjoyed ( and eaten right up) by everyone. The one downfall is the amount it makes. We made one 9 inch and one 7 inch pie and still have enough mix to make probably two or possibly three more 9 inch pies. So if your not looking to make pies for the masses, I would suggest halving it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I only made half the recipe since it made so much! My husband loved it! I used splenda in place of the sugar and used pre-made pie crust. I also used the sugar free chocolate chips and chopped them up into smaller pieces before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This recipe is perfect just as it is - everyone raved about it. I have had many variations of this, but by far this is the best. It does make a lot so you definitely have to use deep-dish pie pans or you will have too much. It is very filling, so next time I may cut this in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My Sicilian grandmother makes this, minus the chocolate. She calls it "Pizza Dolce", which means sweet pizza/pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I left out the chocolate chips and crust! Everyone absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Probably the best pie I've ever had. I did cheat and use premade crust. Next I plan to try it with a little crushed pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kempner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Awesome!!My family loved it on easter, will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Based on the reviews of other, I cut back on the eggs and only used 10. I also added 4 pounds of ricotta instead of 3. This made the pies less custard like but they were too sweet. Otherwise, a very good recipe. Next time I will also cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this. However, it was not as big a hit with my children so I am only giving it a 4 star. Thanks for the recipe. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is a beautiful recipe, I have replaced my recipe, for this one. I have made it for Easter for the past 2 years. Great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States