Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I really liked this recipe. My first time making pie crust from scratch. Definitely chill the dough for an hour prior to rolling it out or it will be hard to work with. The second time I made this I halved the recipe so that I didn't come out with three pies! I added lemon zest along with the chocolate chips to the filling. I think it's easier to use a cookie cutter to make cut outs for the top of the pie rather than the strips. It is a must to chill the pie for a few hours before cutting it, or else it will fall apart. The recipe is also missing an essential finishing touch: Powdered sugar on top. A big hit with my Italian in-laws for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fdr1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Just like I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUCCI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this pie for a family gathering and it was a huge hit. It reminded everyone of my grandmom's traditional Ricotta pie. I have tried two other recipes since. This is still the favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Towaco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This recipe didn't work for me. Crust was too dry to roll. Didn't care for the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe -- loved the sweet taste, not as sweet as I thought. The only problem was there was enough ingredients for 4 pies.. Next time I will cut in 1/2 (or pay attention to the number of Servings - lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMENENDEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This pie was excellent! Now, I am a fanatical chocolate lover and think that chocolate is wonderful on anything. However, both my boyfriend and I agreed that this recipe might be better WITHOUT the chocolate...however, it was still delicious. I had a bit of difficulty with the crust. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I had a terrible time rolling it and getting it into the pan without it cracking and breaking...it just seemed dry when I was trying to roll it out. But the taste of the crust was wonderful and different than pre-made crust, so I wouldn't substitute it. It's actually sweeter than premade crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is the best - just like what my Grandmother used to make!!! Made this for dessert on New Years' Day - the family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Amazing pie! I love the soft sweet flavor until you bite into a chocolate chip. Delicious! All that I can recommend is not to make it as a deep dish pie because it take too long to cook and the crust either gets too stiff or it burns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Talbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was absolutely delightful! The flavor of this reminds me a lot of English custard, as well as in texture to a small degree. My boyfriend and I made it for a dinner party with some of our friends and it was enjoyed ( and eaten right up) by everyone. The one downfall is the amount it makes. We made one 9 inch and one 7 inch pie and still have enough mix to make probably two or possibly three more 9 inch pies. So if your not looking to make pies for the masses, I would suggest halving it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I only made half the recipe since it made so much! My husband loved it! I used splenda in place of the sugar and used pre-made pie crust. I also used the sugar free chocolate chips and chopped them up into smaller pieces before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States