Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe. I've grown up with ricotta pie and now live far away from my hometown Italian bakeries, so I needed a recipe to make one myself. I'm guessing that recipes for ricotta pie vary from region to region in Italy, because this is not really similar to what I've grown up eating. I halved the recipe and the amounts ended up being fine for a spring-form pan. As others have noted, the dough was extremely dry and crumbly despite chilling. However, I fixed this easily by adding a bit more water to it and it was fine. I'd say that the taste of the crust is the best part of the recipe. I was surprised about the idea of having dough on top- I've never seen that before. Since I made this for Christmas, I played along with the idea and put some Christmas cookie shapes on top and it did look nice, although unusual in my experience. The filling itself tastes extremely eggy, enough so that I won't make this recipe again. It's too much like a flan- too different from what I know to be ricotta pie. I realize in hindsight I really should have added the lemon zest- maybe that would have taken the edge off of the eggy flavor. I'm giving this 3 stars instead of 2 because I feel it's fair to cut the author some slack- maybe it tastes how it is supposed to for people from a certain area of Italy, but not where my family is from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I read reviews about this filling be much more than needed so I halved the recipe. I also didn't want to make my own crust so I bought a pre-baked 6oz graham cracker crust. Even with halving it I still had way too much filling. I only need 1/4 of this recipe for 1 pie. I topped it with caramel sauce and sea salt and it was delicious! I might look for caramel chips to put inside it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
My new Italian family was impressed! They are from Italy and it passed the authentic test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Ackerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Easy recipe, baked at low temp in deep dish stone pie pan. Looks and smells delicious! Into the refrigerator for the night and to our Thanksgiving dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This was absolutely amazing!! I did a test run this week since I am planning on making it for Thanksgiving. I bought really good ricotta from an Italian specialty store which makes a big difference. I did not add chocolate chips and added a little bit of orange zest instead of lemon since lemon can be overpowering..so so good!! Can't wait for my family to try it! Please note I did not use this crust recipe. I cheated and used graham cracker crust and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe was wonderful. my dad's family is italian and when I served it to my zia (aunt) she loved it and said it was as authentic as nonna's ricotta pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
After having Italian friends and family from New York try this recipe and others, this recipe comes closest to what they are used to having. The strips along the top, or a top crust, is not authentic, at least not to the people I have asked, so they prefer the pie without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My crust would not stay together. Just crumbled. Resorted to frozen crust as I was pressed for time. Was looking forward to the sweet crust! Otherwise the filling was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I didn't find a THING wrong with this recipe,,it was easy,and probably the best ricotta pie I ever had,,Everyone LOVED it,I made one with chocolate chips and one without,,BOTH WERE FANTASTIC,thank you so much for posting! Don't change a thing about it (people that CHANGE recipes and complain about it,,tick me off...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I'm giving it a four star rating 'cause it was great tasting, but the ingredents are way to much for even two pies and also its better with out the strips on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States