Ricotta Gnocchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I've never made gnocchi before and I followed this recipe exactly. I really loved them and so did my family and husband who is always leery about something new. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because there wasn't enough sauce. After the sauce was done cooking, there wasn't much there so I dumped about 8oz of tomato sauce in and added some basil and oregano and cooked it a bit longer. Even still there really wasn't enough sauce for everyone to their liking. I would definitely double the sauce recipe in the future. Also, I'm a cheese lover - and one of those who never can get enough cheese, but I didn't even put all the mozzarella cubes in the sauce because there were so many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Thank you for this great recipe so much less work then potato gnocchi and so tasty I always serve my gnocchi with sage butter and some fresh Parmesan cheese perfect summer dinner with some gazpacho as appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leni

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
This is a great recipe. My only tip is in adding the gnocchi to the boiling water. I wanted to add all of the gnocchi at the same time so they would all be done at the same time. So, what I do is place the gnocchi on parchment paper. I then roll up the parchment (very loosely so you don't crush the gnocchi) and lower into the boiling water, holding one edge of the parchment so you don't scald your fingers. They release immediately, and just pull the parchment out of the water. Don't use wax paper because some of the wax will end up in the water and the paper tends to shred. Works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kyle1mayble
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I had some left over meatball mix I made last week that I put in the sauce to make it a meat sauce. Very good recipe and very filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Amazing! I always add more flour (and spices to compensate for the flour). Another good addition is little cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I felt that the sauce needed some tomato sauce or paste added to it. I also found I needed to made 5-6 ropes of dough, not 3-4. I also agree with another reviewer who stated she only put 4 oz of mozzarella in. I agree with that statement. Also, when adding the cheese to the sauce do it after you pull the pot off the stove and cooled for a min or two. I also added Rosarita Italian Style Frozen Meatballs for a heartier dish. Also, the gnocchi does need to cook 4-6 min in the water You can mix the dough in a food processor, so long as you use the dough blade.... best part is..... no flour being sent everywhere. Once done, then drain them immediately so the outside of the gnocchi could dry while finishing the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Five stars for the the gnocchi pasta recipe. I have actually never tried the sauce. But my family loves the gnocchi. Mine is always soft yet hearty. And always full of flavor. I definitely recommend freshly grated asiago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amsorenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I made the Ricotta Gnocchi tonight for dinner for my family. The gnocchi was very easy to put together, as was the gravy (red sauce). Although, with the gravy, I did add a small onion and a can of diced tomatoes. My twin 5 year old grandsons do not like gravy but do like Alfredo sauce. I doubled the recipe of the gnocchi because of doing one dish with gravy and another with the Alfredo. The gnocchi, I added about 5 tablespoons of flour before I put it in the fridge to rest for at least 15 minutes. It was perfect when I was ready to roll the logs of pasta before cutting it into its 1 inch pieces. It was very easy to cook, as it only took minutes to do so. I placed half of the gnocchi one bowl, and the other half in another bowl and then spooned the gravy into one bowl and Alfredo into the other. My husband, our daughter, her husband had both dishes of the gnocchi, the twins only had it with the Alfredo, and I had it with the gravy. The gnocchi looked heavy like a dumpling after it was cooked, so I wasn't sure what it was going to be like... truly, I was anticipating a heavy gnocchi. But, to my surprise, it was very light! It was such a delightful surprise and an awesome and wonderful dish. Even my picky grandsons liked it. My step daughter wants me to fix it again. I sent all the leftovers home with her so that they can either get lunch or dinner out of the leftovers tomorrow. If you've never made homemade pasta because you were afraid to, this is the recipe for you to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen LeHew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
It was easy and fun to make but the end result was a let down. The texture was not even close. I think I will stick to the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This had far too strong garlic flavor and needed a significant amount of additional flour to not be sticky. I'll look for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States